Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Electro Harmonix Freeze grounding/ power issues

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by goldspanner, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. goldspanner

    goldspanner Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton
    my freeze seems to introduce a loud hum/ feedback type tone into my chain when its powered by my 1 spot in a daisy chain.

    Wondering if I need one of those diago power isolators or a ground switcher adapter? any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. JulianPrimeaux

    JulianPrimeaux TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    lafayette
    I've had slightly similar issues with mine. You should ideally use the power supply that came stock with the pedal. Some of the EH pedals actually require 9.5v. Mine wouldn't work properly running off of my Furman powered pedalboard 9v cords, it needed it's own separate wall wart.
     
  3. vjf1968

    vjf1968 Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    5,886
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    +1. Any of those EH pedals like the Hum Debugger, The Freeze, Ravish, Pog, ect. You need to use the supplied power supply. There is no aftermarket powersupply that will work properly.
     
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. goldspanner

    goldspanner Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton
    any idea if the diago isolator would do the same job as a seperate supply?

    Really dont want to have to put a multi plug or something like that on my board
     
  6. JulianPrimeaux

    JulianPrimeaux TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    lafayette
    Never say never, but my Furman has a built-in power conditioner and it didn't work. I think the issue is that it needs and unusual amount of power more so than it not getting along with your pedals. I could very well be wrong though. My Pog2 is the same way as my Freeze, both worked best once I used the supplied adapter.
     
  7. baxterhuxtable

    baxterhuxtable TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Location:
    philadelphia
    I was running into the same issues, had to power it seperately. My daisy chain finally died and I convinced myself to spring for a pedal power 2, and so far I've been able to power the freeze from that with no issues. I'm surprised the furman isn't cutting it, is it not the same concept as the voodoo labs?
     
  8. baxterhuxtable

    baxterhuxtable TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Oh and if you look at the adapter that was sent w it (at least mine) its just the standard 9v eh one, even says "standard replacement for boss and ibanez power supplies" on it. No weird ma ratings. So I think its really just something funky with the pedal.
     
  9. vjf1968

    vjf1968 Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    5,886
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Here is what happens. If the place your ordered it from also has a store like say, 8th Street Music. What tends to occur is that a power supply gets pulled from an unopened box to try a pedal in the store, it eventually goes missing so the sales associate digs a floating power supply out of the drawer of misfit power supplies to throw into the box so they can sell it for new with a power supply. Unfortunately it will most likely be the worng one. Seen it happen with the Hum Debugger. It needs the power supply it comes with, no ifs ands or buts.
     
  10. cbtd

    cbtd Tele-Meister

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    Oddly, I have never had an issue with my Micro POG off of a 1Spot chain, but I could see how it could.
     
  11. JulianPrimeaux

    JulianPrimeaux TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    lafayette
    Also, I know that the Pog2 says 9.5v on the pedal, but the manual says 9v. I may have that reversed, but point being they both say something different.
     
  12. baxterhuxtable

    baxterhuxtable TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Hmmmm. Mine came from gc.com, from their distribution center. Kansas city if I'm not mistaken. So unless it was sold from there once, returned with the wrong supply, and then sold to me its the adapter that came from the factory. I do know exactly what you're talking about though, I worked at gc twice each time for about a year and saw my fair share of such shenanigans. I always tried to keep things straight.

    I will have to double check my rig, just used it on a gig Saturday and didn't hear any difference from when it had its own supply. But maybe I didn't listen close enough. Regardless, the freeze pedal is one of my favorite gear purchases ever, and I will gladly give it its own adapter if it keeps it on my board.
     
  13. goldspanner

    goldspanner Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton
    it works fine with its own isolated supply (the one it came with) and I don't see any reason it wouldn't work with a daisy chained 1 spot + an isolator, assuming the isolator does what it's supposed to.
    Did some research, and although most 9v pedals say exactly that on the pedal, their supplies usually deliver more like 9.6v. This is the case with both the 1spot & the supply that came with the freeze.

    I'll report back and tell you guys if the diago isolator works.

    Cheers
     
  14. aviavi

    aviavi TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    I have an EHX Freeze that whines when powered via my 1-Spot. It's a drag because I don't want to have to use a PP2, since it adds weight and takes up space. And I don't want to have to power it off it's own power supply.

    I emailed EHX support about this, and they said to send the pedal back for servicing. But I asked specifically if this whine issue could be fixed so that I could use Freeze pedal with daisy-chained power, and so far I have not heard back. I don't want want to send it in, pay the shipping+handling, and have it come back with a "nothing is wrong with the pedal" message. I suspect that the noise is because it is a digital pedal with it's own internal powering system. The odd thing is that I have another EHX digital pedal (Micro Pog) that has no issues running from a 1Spot in tandem with my other pedals.

    Any luck with using the Diago isolator?
     
  15. goldspanner

    goldspanner Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton
    been a while since I posted this, and no, unfortunately no luck with it.
    Spent £20 on the damn thing!
    If I remember correctly, it reduced the hum a bit, but definitely didn't cure it.

    I'm about to get rid of my freeze, could do with having less pedals, and I find that it just over complicates things. Instead I could just be a bit more creative with what I have
     
  16. k tone

    k tone Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    The condition that you speak of is called EHXitis. Their quality control is ATTROCIOUS. It is the reason I do not use many of their products.
     
  17. ruger9

    ruger9 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,429
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    Hackettstown, NJ
    I hate to agree, because EHX has some awesome stuff... in design, anyway... random terrible execution. Notorious for noise/power issues (like hum and buzz). I want to buy another Wiggler so bad, but I just know the damn thing's going to be noisy.
     
  18. goldspanner

    goldspanner Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton
    At least with their tube pedals, a bit of noise like that is all part of the charm :p
    The freeze actually produces a tone, rather than a hum! so it makes it alot more annoying!
     
  19. artdecade

    artdecade Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,551
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Twangsylvania
    +1 on EHX having ****e quality control.
    +1 on wanting the Wiggler again and knowing that it will be too noisy again!

    :D
     
  20. Thighbanez

    Thighbanez Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,972
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Location:
    delMARva
    Reason #2 that I stay away from E.Harmonix products!
     
  21. aviavi

    aviavi TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    EHX told me they could fix the whine in my Freeze pedal, so I sent it to them, and just received it back. It still makes the exact same f*#!ing whine. Really pisses me off, because I missed my window to take it back to the store where I bought it.

    I am or was a kind of EHX endorser, having made a couple of nutty demo videos for them a few years back, so this especially pisses me off.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Share This Page