Early '70s Thinline Telecaster oddity

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by metalhead525, Feb 11, 2019.

1. metalhead525

metalhead525 TDPRI Member

1.jpg 2.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 8.jpg 10.jpg 11.jpg 12.jpg 13.jpg 14.jpg Hello all. Recently inherited this old Thinline Telecaster. Let me just say, I have been playing for near 30 years now. Mainly a high end Ibanez player (JEMs and the like). This has been in the family since '74. My Dad purchased used in '74 for $250 at a music store here in town to use at a local high school when he was the music director. My stepfather purchased it from him in the early '80s and has sat pretty much untouched since then. Dating it has been a bit of a mystery. The neck plate is from '70. The neck stamp is dated APR 1972. Has a black guard. 2 string guides, with 1 being original and the second seems correct for a later Tele. Electronics check out with the switch and pots being correct at least. The bass side of the neck pocket is not notched either. Original case looks correct minus the Fender logo. Really not sure what to make of it or what date to put on it for insurance purposes. I was told to contact Gruhn Guitars in Nashville for an appraisal. Any thoughts?

2. AlbertaGriff

AlbertaGriff Tele-Holic

My thoughts are that you can sell your Ibanezes. Nice guitar!

3. pbenn

pbenn Tele-Afflicted

One tiny question. Best info I can easily find is that the Mk 1 to Mk 2 transition happened "in 1971."

https://www.fender.com/articles/gea...-survivor-rock-legend-the-thinline-telecaster

Tried searching in tdpri to get exact date, came up short. So '70 Thinlines are Mk 1s, and are part of 1971 production?

And you've got a '72 neck -- but which doesn't say "Thinline" like a Mk2 neck does (see '72 Thinline reissue). Is this a replaced neck?

Nice looking guitar, by the way.

4. metalhead525