Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

DXF Tele Body Help

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by 13wi5, Sep 22, 2017.

1. 13wi5

13wi5 TDPRI Member

Sep 22, 2017
    Birmingham UK
    Hello all!

My names Lewis, And I'm looking into building a Steelcaster similar to what James Trusart builds.

Now I'm a welder for an aerospace company, and I have access to a cnc laser. I have no clue about programming it and was wondering if any of you guys had a file for a telecaster body, but flat with the top plate having the cut outs for pickups & control knobs ect and bottom plate with the holes for passing the strings though the body.

I'd like to have the neck cut out exactly how it would look if you looked at the front of a wooden body & vice Versa.

I'm pretty sure it could be a cad file, and we could convert it into the file type needed for that machine.

If anyone could help that would be top!

Nice 1

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Mar 30, 2003
    Ontario County
    13wi5 likes this.

3. 13wi5

13wi5 TDPRI Member

Sep 22, 2017
    Birmingham UK
    Ok so I seem to have found the DWG/DXF Files, I've managed to save and open the DWG files, but when I click on the DXF body it just opens a load of numbers? Is that right dude?

4. Special Brew

Special Brew Tele-Meister

May 1, 2014
    Gutter
    Try a right click Save As for the DXF. DXF are ascii based files so they should be human readable, if you scroll through it you should see text such as POLYLINE or similar amongst the numbers. Your browser might be seeing it as a text file and opening it by default.

Please do a build thread!

13wi5 likes this.

5. guitarbuilder

Mar 30, 2003
    Ontario County