Discussion content, Relic, hi end PRS, Strats, Vintage, and you only by mint or new?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by teleman1, Mar 14, 2019 at 4:15 PM.

1. teleman1

teleman1 Tele-Holic

Except for the lower line PRS's,(which are great guitars), Prs owner seem to be pretty anal about their instruments. A scratch might require an hour with their therapist over the matter. And, they might have to repair that scratch. We see lots of discussion over relic and not. But it really comes down to this, and it is almost like a religion the way you believe. You are either anal about your instrument or not. Me, outside of a bad smell, if the guitar plays and sounds like your God is next to you, that is all that matters. I only care about condition for the purchase price value and how hard it would be to sell from whatever malady you accepted when you purchased the guitar..

I have my belief systems. I am a Realtor. Some folks must have new or they are only interested in a home that is a total refurbish. For the most part, if you value your dollar, that is the easiest way to loose in Real estate, especially new, in the short term. Same goes for auto, buy new pay the pauper and you loose a few thousand the day of purchase. Fact is, some people just can't buy used, it tears them apart. There's the someone elses problem attitude too. When you grow up thinking one way about this, a total bargain scares you, unless it is new. For me, I don't like, used underwear or shoes; ain't going to happen. When cassette decks were in fashion; that I would buy new ,but good working speakers, receiver, I am OK with a good price for those. But man PRS owners, what is with them, If I dig into a guitar, I am going to ware it and eventual bang it up. What a Dichotomy owning a PRS is, great guitar, but don't scratch it or play it hard. Any mint PRS high end guitar is more like a show piece to them, than an instrument that you play.