Custom Tele Build (need advise)

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Maverick44m, May 23, 2019.

1. Maverick44m

Maverick44m NEW MEMBER!

Howdy fellas. I'm not great at introductions, so I figured I'd just jump in head first. My name is Aaron, and I'm a relatively new guitarist (been playing a little over a year). My first guitar was a Squier Telecaster, and I've really just fallen in love with the Telecaster platform. I love the look, the feel, and the sound.

Anyways, I've reached the point where I know this is something I'm going to stick with, and I've started looking at getting another guitar. I've decided that I want to build it instead of just buying it so that I can get exactly what I want. I have over 10 years of experience as a woodworker, so building the body should be pretty easy. I posted a thread similar to this one on another forum, but it died off pretty quickly and I still had questions. The main thing is that I don't know a lot about the electronic side of things. I mostly play classic rock, punk rock, and a little bit of country, so I was thinking of getting a Humbucker for the bridge and a single coil for the neck. One recommendation I looked at was a Seymour Duncan Little 59, which is a single coil sized humbucker. I don't know much about it, but it looks nice, and to my untrained ears it sounds nice. I'm not sure what neck pickup to pair with it though if I go that route.

Here's what I was thinking for the body. I want to make it out of Alder and top it with some extremely nice Quilted Maple. I want to dye the Maple green, and have it fade into black, with the sides and back being pure black. I also want to do a high polish on the body, as well as possibly do double edge binding.

The pattern I plan on buying is for a Thinline, only I'm make it a solid body instead of semi hollow.

This is pretty close to the color/fade I want.

[​IMG]