Cropper on 'Hip Huger Her' - Esquire on "bass" setting?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by BBill64, Sep 18, 2018.

1. BBill64

BBill64 Tele-Afflicted

I'm a complete Esquire noob, but I can't get that muddy rhythm-riffin sound on my tele, so I'm thinking it's maybe the "neck"/"bass" setting on Cropper's Esquire?

2. RoscoeElegante

RoscoeElegante Friend of Leo's

3. Ricky D.

Ricky D. Poster Extraordinaire

BF Super Reverb, Whiteguard Tele bridge.

4. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's

All groove...all day.

5. BBill64

BBill64 Tele-Afflicted

Wouldn't it be more likely that he used the Harvard amp? To get that dirty tone from a Super would definitely overpower the organ/Leslie (which don't get THAT loud)

Tone Eee likes this.
  6. Tone Eee

Tone Eee Tele-Meister

I think he said he use a Harvard in the studio for everything.

black_doug and Jim W like this.
  7. Ricky D.

If you think that sounds like a Harvard I don't have anything for you.

telex76 likes this.
  8. BBill64

BBill64 Tele-Afflicted

Has this site always been full of smart arse old farts, who write only in self-assured and solid declarative, or am I just more sensitive to it these days?

9. Sea Devil

Sea Devil Tele-Afflicted

The only amps he's ever talked about using in that era are the Harvard and the Super Reverb. Not only has he specified that, he's said that they always used a Neumann U67 mike. It certainly doesn't sound like a Super, unless it was turned up all the way, and that's not how they recorded. I've never actually heard a Harvard, though.