Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Chisel suggestions?

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by sergiomajluf, Dec 27, 2017.

1. sergiomajluf

sergiomajluf Tele-Meister

Sep 26, 2015
    Santiago, Chile
    Looking into buying some hand tools. I'm no pro luthier or anything, but have come to value working with quality tools, yet I'm always trying to be on a tight budget.

I have worked with "Two Cherries" brand before, and the are really nice ($129). This set at Amazon would be my first alternative.

Stanley also has a couple of options I could choose from. This one ($160) seems comparable to the previous one, but this other one's price ($70) is appealing.

Finally, this other brand, Narex, also seems to fit within the others at a better price yet ($85).

Beyond how many sizes on a set, how do you choose a brand? What do you use or recommend?

2. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Meister

Throughout my carpentry career I mainly used the Stanleys with the yellow and black phenolic handles with the striker cap on top. The steel is pretty decent and holds an edge pretty well, and they will take an everyday beating. I've also got a couple of the Marples with the blue handles, they are pretty tough too, and may have a slight edge holding ability over the Stanleys, plus they feel good and comfy in the hand.

Those chisels are not really in the same category as the ones that you've posted links to (not nearly as nice looking and the steel may be of a higher quality in your links), but they get the job done and are very durable. Pretty good choices for someone who makes their living with their tools.