Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

cheap but good pickups

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Mickey, Mar 26, 2003.

1. Mickey

Mickey Tele-Holic

Mar 26, 2003
    L.A., CA
    Thanks for having me, my first time here.

I've been playing a mex telecaster for about two years with a hum that humbucker friends said was normal for a single-coil, but I knew was not. So I went in and, what do you know?, the bridge pickup had no metal base, and thus was not grounded. The cheapo way they, in the factory, had tried to ground it was to split the groundwire going from the pickup to the pot, and to run this around a screw on the bridge. Even before the guitar had reached me (I got it through mailorder - stupid), this jimmmy rig grounding had come undone -- hence the serious hum.

so I grounded the bridge, only to find that this larger hum was covering a lighter -- but still thoroughly annoying -- string grounding problem. The strings crackle upon light touch. Not nice.

That's a long and sad story. This is my question. I've decided to go in there, play some Operation, redo all the wiring and pots, etc. and maybe learn something about my guitar in the process. But I figure while I am playing doctor, I might as well switch out the cheap pickups. I fear they are causing this ground problem in the first place. I'll check with a multimeter first, but in the meantime I do think they're the problem. (those of you who have had this same string-touch problem but have found another solution, please, your advice will be appreciated).