Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Cant do triplet strumming !

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by mikhett, Jan 10, 2017 at 3:32 PM.

1. mikhett

mikhett TDPRI Member

Jan 27, 2007
    jackson nj
    Ok,Im self taught been playing about 5 years for the life of me I cant do fast triplet strumming without dropping the pick! I cant play the ALL MY LOVING rhythm part which is frustrating as its simple chord changes.Ive never had a lesson.

2. waparker4

waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity

Nov 9, 2011
    Philadelphia, PA
    Practice daily, set up a metronome and start slow

3. MilwMark

MilwMark Poster Extraordinaire

Apr 29, 2013
    near Arnold's
    I'd guess you are tensing up as you try to go faster. bearing down will slow you down, and cause you to drop the pick.

As waparker4 says, you need to slow way down to speed way up. Maybe get the slowdowner so you can play along with the original song, at pitch, just at a slower speed. That might help you keep the "feel" of the rhythm better than a metronome (don't get me wrong, I heartily endorse metronomes).

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. stringslinger

stringslinger Tele-Meister

Mar 22, 2011
    Nashville, TN
    With strumming, especially anything in 3 or triplets, all strums are not created equal. You have rhythmic accent points that serve as pulse markers, if that makes any sense.

ex) DOWN - up - down - UP - down - up