Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Candle wax for pickup potting?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by LutherBurger, Oct 10, 2017.

1. LutherBurger

LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

Oct 29, 2013
    NYC
    I've never tried this before, but I would like to pot an annoyingly microphonic bridge pickup with paraffin wax. I have everything I need in my kitchen... except the wax.

None of my local grocery or hardware stores sell paraffin. I can, however, get a box of plain white Shabbat (Jewish sabbath) candles -- which I assume are paraffin -- inexpensively at the grocery store. I'm considering melting some of these candles down, removing the wicks from the liquid wax, and dunking the pickup.

Have you potted a pickup with candle wax? Can you offer advice or other recommendations? Do you think a divine hand will guide me through the process, or will it smite me upside the head?

Thanks for your help.

troy2003 likes this.

2. milocj

milocj Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Aug 21, 2005
    Michigan
    Is it a Tele bridge pickup with the plate on the bottom? If it is you may be able to get away with a couple of small bits of beeswax (available at a craft store like Michael's) and then heating it with a blow dryer until the wax melts under the plate.

I think most potting is done with a mix of beeswax and paraffin.

LutherBurger likes this.

3. Snook

Snook Tele-Meister

Sep 17, 2015
    Ohio
    I've seen melted colored candles cause corrosion on brass candlesticks.... Plain parrafin should be ok I think.... used to find it at hardware stores that carried canning supplies (like Ball jars and such).... and years ago you could find it at filling stations (we made candles in Boy Scouts and I think that's where we bought it, since one of the petroleum companies made it?).

LutherBurger likes this.

4. Bortyeast