Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Cabronita with Bigsby and bridge problem

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by upstartocaster, Mar 5, 2011.

1. upstartocaster

upstartocaster Tele-Meister

Mar 1, 2011
    NC
    I've got a project that I'm rolling around in my head, which is a Cabronita style tele with a tv jones or a filter at the bridge, and a bigsby b5. I'm not keen on recessing the bigsby like G&L, nor do I want to shim the neck. I'm thinking a recessed TOM or something like that. I've never worked with a recessed TOM before, but it seems like it should work. There is a lot of controversy over the right bridge for a bigsby, so I just want to know if it's a good idea.
    I have seen an image of a vibramate bridge with a bigsby, but I'm doing a humbucker at the bridge, so that won't work :(
    Just wondering what everyone else thinks, so I can settle the bigsby debate once and for all!!

2. KokoTele

KokoTele Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

Mar 17, 2003
    albany, ny [not chicago]
    I have a '72 Tele here with the B5 style Bigsby and a Mustang style bridge. No recessing necessary, no neck angle necessary, and it works great.

Edit: that's not truly a Mustang-style bridge. Not sure exactly what it is.

[​IMG]

3. upstartocaster

Mar 1, 2011
    NC
    but would it work with a filter?

4. KokoTele

Mar 17, 2003
    albany, ny [not chicago]
    If the Filtertron will work with a regular hardtail bridge like it does on the Fender model, it'll work with with the Bigsby.

5. upstartocaster

Mar 1, 2011
    NC
    ahh... well that might require some modding of the bridge plate.... I've never seen a slanted filter before... might be cool.
    it looks like an ashtray with the top part removed. (?)

6. KokoTele

Mar 17, 2003
    albany, ny [not chicago]