Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Budget "Baja" Tele-Like options?

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by Black-T, May 28, 2017.

1. Black-T

Black-T TDPRI Member

May 27, 2017
    CT
    Newbie here,
    Just awoke to the "T-ruth" about this timeless design; I'm 2-weeks blessed by my
    '12 Squier Tele Standard in Black body +Headstock!
    Love the Fender feel, BUT, I recently discovered the F-Classic Player Baja Telecaster neck.
    It's Perfect, 'cept, I'm broke. :rolleyes:
    Any Low-$ Squier options out there 4 me? Suggestions?
    Thanks All...

2. Sollophonic

Sollophonic Friend of Leo's

The Baja 50s has a much chunkier neck than nearly all Squier Teles, so with neck profile you probably won't come close, IMO

Ok here;s my take on Squier Teles and their necks/pickups

Affinity teles tend to have thinner, slimmer necks, though I have owned the odd few that slip through the net. The Squier Affinity maple neck can play very sweet and smoothly and a new nut with widened string spacing can help. To get a chunkier neck on my old Affinity Tele, I just swapped necks for a Squier SE/Bullet strat one, which has a bit more heft in its profile.

The older Affinity teles with the rosewood board necks from the late 1990s have slightly chunkier necks, as do the Squier Standard Teles. These though are difficult to convert to 3 saddle bridge set-up which is also a big part of the Baja vibe.

The other big part or the Baja philosophy is the lairier pickups, which are the missing link between vintage and a bit louder. A Classic Vibe 50s would get you close-ish apart from the neck, there again the sound of a Broadcaster bridge pickup through a very warm tube amp, is something that is not easy to replicate.

Gigging again with my trusty Baja this coming weekend, serves me well

3. montemerrick

montemerrick TDPRI Member