Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Brazilian rosewood?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by fernandomp, Jul 5, 2016.

1. fernandomp

fernandomp TDPRI Member

Feb 5, 2015
    Spain
    Hi, im new on this forum.
    I was looking for a new acoustic and i saw a handmade guitar with a beautiful rosewood back and sides. Im not an expert, in most of the cases im not sure to difference brazilian and indian rosewood, but in this case, there is a whiteis part in the back. It looks to me like brazilian, but i don't know if this white parts could be in a indian rosewood.
    Sorry for mi bad english and thanks in advance.
    Here some pics
    1467749973006.jpg 1467749980071.jpg

2. uriah1

uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Feb 12, 2011
    Around
  3. P Thought

P Thought Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

I can't help you on the identification, but that's pretty wood. Welcome to the forum.

4. Stubee

Stubee Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

Jan 22, 2007
    Mid-Michigan
    I'd go over to to the UMGF website and do a search.

5. clintj

clintj Friend of Leo's

Apr 4, 2015
    Idaho
    +1 on the Acoustic Guitar Forum.

The light parts are sapwood, the outer part of the board from the outer part of the tree near the bark. I'm not sure on the exact species, but the dark part looks a bit light for Brazilian rosewood to me. Brazilian is usually chocolate brown, and can have a slight purple color in spots. This is the headstock on my old Yairi, which is Brazilian:

[​IMG]