Boz Scaggs in the 21st century

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by archetype, May 1, 2019.

1. archetype

archetype Fiend of Leo's Silver Supporter

I've been listening to Boz Scaggs since about 1970. Some things I like, some things I care less for, but he's consistently tasteful and unique. He's always thrown Memphis-style R&B, blues, gospel, and country into the blender and poured out his own, unique thing. Even his so-called "disco" music was just one of his own well-honed styles, but with the backbeat on the hi-hat instead of the snare and repeating riffs on the flute instead of his usual guitar, organ, or horns. He turned his thing into dance pop and the market called it "disco." IMO he doesn't have a wide vocal range, but his singing fits his music perfectly. I've been cruising YouTube and came up with three songs that I think should be heard. The first two are from his Memphis album and the last is from Dig.

Cadilac Walk

This is originally a Moon Martin song, later covered by Willy DeVille. Those are great, but I think the Scaggs treatment is best. Slower than the original and contains only what's essential. Extra points for fat tone and tremolo.

Mixed Up Shook Up Girl
    A Willy DeVille song that's slowed down and reduced to the basics. Extra, extra points for fat tone and tremolo.

I Just Go
    Slow, very slow, songs are dangerous for the musician. They have to stand on their own as compelling works without needing a faster pace or anything flashy to support them. IMO this is as good as it gets. It's stripped-down honesty without a single extraneous note. It brings me to the edge of tears.