Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Boothill 5E3 build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by RJSkypala, Jan 31, 2013.

1. RJSkypala

RJSkypala TDPRI Member

Hey everyone,

I just got my boothill kit in yesterday, thanks Dave. Actually, I got two of them, one if for a friend who is building one too. I am very excited to get the amp together.

I've been working with low voltage stuff for many years (effects pedals, etc.) but this is my first full tube amp build (I've worked on some of my amps before, but never a whole build). I feel that, in general, my soldering technique is decent but this is an entirely new context for me.

I just finished putting all the passives on the board, I am positive I followed the layout correctly but since this is my first eyelet board I would love some feedback on my work and any advice to improve.

I appreciate all your help and look forward to completing the rest of the project.

For some reason my iPhone rotates every photo 180 degrees, if this is a problem for y'all I will fix it. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. guiltless

guiltless Tele-Meister

The layout looks good from what I can see. You may want to touch up the eyelets with solder. Those holes should be filled. Don't pile the solder in there, just make sure you can't see through the eyelet.

3. birddog01

birddog01 Tele-Afflicted

Hmmm... when did Dave start using eyelet boards?
    Mine was one of the early ones and came wtih a tag board.

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. RJSkypala

RJSkypala TDPRI Member

Thanks, some of the holes still need wires in them, so they will be filled in as I go.