Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Best Starter DIY Pedal?

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by stantonmanton, Oct 30, 2012.

1. stantonmanton

stantonmanton Tele-Meister

I just realized that I should've posted this here instead of the "Stomp Box" forum...

I am in the market for my first DIY pedal kit. I have no experience whatsoever in building something like this, but was hoping to get everyone's thoughts on what you think the best first DIY pedal for someone like me would be. Keep in mind that I will be running it through a Vox Pathfinder which I will be getting for Christmas. Any thoughts?

2. AutoReverse

AutoReverse Tele-Meister

Hard to get much simpler than a basic fuzz face. I found the germanium transistors are a laundry machine repair shop.

3. space cadet

space cadet TDPRI Member

Try a SHO clone. Easy and useful. not my layout but I've built this one and it works fine.
    [​IMG]

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. JBOWLES

JBOWLES Tele-Meister

Some fuzz pedals, SHO, most treble boosters or boosters in general, etc... all these are great first builds. IMO

6. stantonmanton

Does anyone have any links to their favorite clone kit sellers? Do they typically come with all the tools you need?

7. choupique

choupique Tele-Holic

Check out the BYOC (Build Your Own Clone) website. They offer kits for all skill levels and also have tools available. They make some pretty good stuff.

8. stantonmanton

Anyone have a favorite Big Muff clone?

9. GhostofJohnToad

GhostofJohnToad Tele-Afflicted