Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Best non Fender Tele copy ?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by maestrovert, Aug 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maestrovert

maestrovert Poster Extraordinaire

i had a Pan/Alembic Toploader Tele that was a great guitar....
    i've no experience with any other non Fender Teles (aside from homebrew partscasters) such as the Samick or the Ibanez.....
    i've the offshore imports in mind, i'm not counting the Andersons, DeTemples, or Suhrs

2. roadkillbill

roadkillbill Tele-Holic

Jun 23, 2006
    Va.
    Well, I've got an Epiphone tele, MIK that's kinda cool, not the pointy headstock one, but the other one that's black w//scalloped edge and mother o' pearl inlay..

And, a JB Player tele, natural finish, maple neck.. probably chinese, and very nice for the price..

Both were under a hundred bucks--I bought them a year and a half ago when it dawned on me that I ought to try out a tele, or at least a tele shaped object, just to see if I liked it..

I've upgraded both with new p'ups, and thought about selling them to replace them with real teles, but for the price I paid, they're worth more as guitars to travel with, or play slide on.

3. Jack Wells

Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity

Oct 19, 2003
    Albuquerque, USA
    Nelsonic made a pretty decent Tele style guitar but I think Fender put an end to it. It was made in Korea. Some think it may have been made by the same factory that makes the Lite Ash Telecaster. Here's mine as I received it.
    ......................[​IMG]

Here it is after a neck refinish and a Ferden headstock transformation.

......................[​IMG]