Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Best $5-600 tube amp?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by HdCornerCarver, Feb 13, 2018.

1. HdCornerCarver

HdCornerCarver TDPRI Member

Mar 18, 2017
    Lake George, NY
    Looking to pick up a tube amp for around $5-600 in the near future. Leaning towards a tweed Blues Junior right now, if they're still available when I have the loot to spare.

Any other options I should consider? I'm still learning the ropes. Usually only play at the house, but would like something capable of handling small gigs in the future. Play mostly blues, classic rock, some twangy country tunes, with a few funk tunes here and there.

Thanks for any advice in advance!

2. tce63

tce63 Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

Jan 18, 2013
    Sweden
    I got a brand new Fender Blues Junior Lacquered Tweed for about a month ago.
    Love it.

It plays significantly higher than you think

Berndizzle440 and Piggy Stu like this.
  3. Random1643

Random1643 Tele-Meister

Mar 11, 2015
    Upper Midwest
    I have a older prototype of this 14-watt, 6V6-driven combo: http://www.tubeampfactory.com/combos/taf-14r-12c/ Runs quiet, nice clarity, takes pedals well even at low volumes. The sound sample in my signature was recorded using this amp; not an ideal demo but you'll get a flavor. Hand-made in the USA. If your travels take you to the Delaware, OH area, where the Tube Amp Factory is located, Dave Harris the inventor/owner is a joy to visit with.

chemobrain likes this.
  4. powerwagonjohn

powerwagonjohn Tele-Meister

Apr 30, 2013
    minnesota
    The best $500.00 I spent on an amp was my 1967 B/F Bassman, my 1966 Ampeg Gemini II or my Mesa TA-15. I enjoy each one for there different tones.
    Thanks John