Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Best 1x12 combo with 6L6 power tubes

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by GaryOsborne, Oct 20, 2013.

1. GaryOsborne

GaryOsborne RIP

Jun 7, 2013
    Nashville, TN
    I really want a 1x12 amp that's loud and clean.
    It seems like a lot of 1x12 combos are el84s or EL34s. I'm no expert in the differences. I was just reading this:

http://mesaboogie.com/news/2010/08/6l6-vs-el-34-feel-the-power-of-your-amps-power-section/

Pretty interesting. Can I get the clean headroom I need for country from el34s? If I could id have a lot more options.
    I've been looking at mostly mesa combos because the fender 1x12s I've looked at have been underwhelming to say the least. Everyone says to get a DRRI (700$ used) and mod/switch speakers and trannys to get it where I need. I don't want to have to put a bunch of money into an amp I just spent 700$ on.
    There are several mesa combos I can get for around 500$ used that have reverb, graphic EQ and 30w-50w of mesa power. Fender can't touch that. Right?
    Thanks.
    Gary.

2. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Aug 17, 2012
    Seattle
    I can run either 6L6s or EL34s in my Mesa Mark V, and power wise they're not that different. With EL34s in the head and the power output set to 45 watts (using just the inner pair of power tubes), there is still enough headroom there to keep up with just about any drummer.

3. marshman

marshman Friend of Leo's

Feb 1, 2007
    SE PA
    I don't see many Mesa combos in the sub-$500 range that are in good condition, but if you find one, by all means, grab it and try it out. Worst-case scenario it's still worth $500 if you don't like it an need to move on.