Backup amp in a pedal

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Vespa_One, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. NiceTele

    NiceTele Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,117
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    I use a Zoom MS50G stomp on my board for various FX, but it also does good amp simulation as a backup. I used it on a Deluxe Reverb setting through a big PA in a big venue and it sounded very good!
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  2. chemobrain

    chemobrain Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,263
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Location:
    oakland ca.
    Isn't it nice, being ampless ;)
     
    RyCo1983 likes this.
  3. RyCo1983

    RyCo1983 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Central PA
    Takes some adjusting...but so convenient.
     
    chemobrain likes this.
  4. chemobrain

    chemobrain Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,263
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Location:
    oakland ca.
    how do you like your tech 21 fly rig?please....;)
     
  5. ukepicker

    ukepicker Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Location:
    East Texas
    I had a joyo american sound. But it died on me. I wouldn’t trust it to ride in a case for a while and then work when I needed it to.

    Tech 21 gear, though, I would trust. I had a para driver for a while and it was solid as a rock.
     
    Random1643 and Vespa_One like this.
  6. alnico357

    alnico357 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Location:
    Arkansas
    OP, I guess your question, backup amp in a pedal, is not what I had in mind. I carry an EHX 22 Caliber power amp in my catastrophe bag just in case.
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  7. Rob77

    Rob77 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have a Tech21 Liverpool exactly for that scenario, but I am trying to sell it at moment as im looking for small lunch box amps as backup.
    For an emergency I guess the "amp in a pedal" would be adequate, but if your using a pedal board for all your distortion, they may sound fizzy and/or aweful through these pedals, just my personal experience :).
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  8. RyCo1983

    RyCo1983 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Central PA
    The RK5 is fantastic. It's definitely suited for more aggressive music. It has no problem cutting through. I saw Richie with the Winery Dogs when he was using it on tour. It drove the FOH sound. I approve! I usually run it into the FX loop of a Tech 21 Trademark 60 when I'm jamming at home.
     
    chemobrain likes this.
  9. alnico357

    alnico357 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I want my amp behind me. Being ampless is not nice for me.
     
    chemobrain likes this.
  10. JeffBlue

    JeffBlue Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Southern California
    I may be mounting a Vox MV50 Clean amp onto the pedalboard I will be building. A 1 pound mini amp with a huge 50 watts NuTube technology, small footprint and can be used directly into a mixer.
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  11. chemobrain

    chemobrain Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,263
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Location:
    oakland ca.
    take it easy, B-R-E-E-E-A-T-H, in with the good air
    inhale hmmmmm,
    exhaleout with the old tcheeeeewwwww
    inhale hmmmmm,

    exhaleout with the old tcheeeeewwwww

    aaaauhh :cool:, better, now?
    your pain is the breaking of you shell,
    in time you will experience a state of confidence and serenity,
    knowing that you are evolving into a higher state of cosmic a state of
    guitar-ness.:D

    that will be $25.00 cash or paypal.
    the five pack that you can purchase cash or paypal for $75.00
     
  12. chemobrain

    chemobrain Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,263
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Location:
    oakland ca.
    thank you. I have heard several demos , but I suspect all things demo.
     
    RyCo1983 likes this.
  13. Keefsdad

    Keefsdad Tele-Meister

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You have to try it through a PA, it is not designed to be used with an amp. It sounds great, you may be surprised at how amp like it is. It overdrives really nicely and takes pedals well too.
     
    DaphneBlue likes this.
  14. Vespa_One

    Vespa_One Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Location:
    US
    fwiw I'm not using distortion. I use a boost sometimes but I could for sure live without it. If I can get a passable clean tone and use my delay pedals I would be fine.
    Thanks for your input!
     
  15. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    2,785
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I've got an Electro-Harmonix Magnum 44. Small ( the PSU is bigger than the amp ), loud and doesn't sound too bad. Don't clumsily tread on the 'norm/bright' switch though!.
    Not bad if you have a cab to use it with.
    Mooer make the Baby Bomb. A 30 Watt competitor in the Class D micro-amp field. There are doubtless others too.

    A D.I box is always a useful thing. One that features some form of cab emulation can butter many parsnips.

    What's your current setup?
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  16. Vespa_One

    Vespa_One Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Location:
    US
    I'm currently using the Fender Mustang III V2. I've done countless gigs without a backup amp but now I'm old and paranoid lol.
    Thanks for your help, I'll check out the Magnum 44.
     
    Bill likes this.
  17. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    2,785
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    You will need a cab to use amps like the Mooer or Electro-Harmonix. I'm not familiar with the Mustang. Is it an 'integrated' combo, or does it feature a plug-in speaker that would allow you to use the speaker separately?
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  18. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Tele-Holic

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    The 44 magnum is a power amp, you need to plug it into a cabinet, if you want to go straight to P.A. all you need is a Joyo American Sound at the end of the pedalboard, i have it there.
    I don't think you should plug the Magnum into desk but i might be wrong.
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
  19. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Tele-Holic

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    Hi how do you find the Mojo Diamond as a regular head ? does it have enough clean headroom or it breaks early ?
    Thanks a lot.
     
  20. beejay493

    beejay493 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    tyne and wear uk
    +1 on the Tech 21 Blonde.....
     
    Vespa_One likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.