Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Avoiding speaker break-up?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by E5RSY, Aug 10, 2018.

1. E5RSY

E5RSY Poster Extraordinaire

Mar 5, 2009
    Georgetown, TX
    Is there a formula or guideline for this? For example: In x-watt amp, y-watt speaker will provide enough "clearance" to avoid break-up.

Just curious. Thanks, in advance.

Scott

2. JustABluesGuy

JustABluesGuy Friend of Leo's

Sep 2, 2016
    Houston, TX
    I don’t know of any formula. It’s my understanding that smooth cones tend to break up easier than ribbed. Lower power handling speakers “tend” to break up before higher rated ones.

In general, smaller magnets and voice coils will breakup sooner.

I’m no expert, so take all this with a large grain of salt.

Are you looking to avoid or obtain breakup?

uriah1 and blakestree like this.

3. archetype

archetype Fiend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Jun 4, 2005
    Williamsville NY
    The generalities that @JustABluesGuy mentioned are excellent generalities. Know, however, that any speaker is the sum of its parts when it comes to breakup and other characteristics.

Cone style, cone material, cone thickness, edge dope/no dope/dope thickness/dope material, dust cap diameter, dust cap material, voice coil dimensions, voice coil gap, magnet type, magnet size, magnet strength, cosmic rays, the price of beer...

Be guided by the generalities, but choose by manufacturers' descriptions and other people's experiences.

JustABluesGuy likes this.

4. schmee

schmee Friend of Leo's

Jun 2, 2003
    northwest
    Generalizations:
    Smooth cones = earlier break up
    More wattage = better cone control
    Larger voice coils = Better cone control
    Doping controls the cone some too