Authentic Tadeo Gomez signature/initials or forgery? Any opinions on this "1952" Tele?

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by BodhiSM, Feb 25, 2018.

1. BodhiSM

BodhiSM NEW MEMBER!

Hi,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I come seeking advice and opinions on the authenticity of a guitar I have that may be a 1951 Tadeo Gomez Tele. I bought this guitar a long time ago thinking it was just a parts guitar. It was sitting in the closet for years as i had quit playing. Took it our recently, found it had a short in the input. Brought it in to my guitar tech who thought there was something interesting about the guitar. He took the neck off and found the TG initials and dates from 1952. First thought was "Wow". Then I realized that it could possibly be a forgery. I may be interested in selling the guitar at some point in the future and want to be sure of what it is so I don't unwittingly rip someone off. So, if anybody out there has an eagle eye for these types of things I would appreciate feedback. Not sure if this is pertinent information or not, but I bought the guitar in 2000. Not sure if there was a lot of forgeries going on at that time. Thank you. Tele1.png Tele2.png

tonyj, PeterUK and BorderRadio like this.
  2. Artslap

Artslap Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

tonyj likes this.
  3. RoscoeElegante

RoscoeElegante Friend of Leo's

4. bender66

bender66 Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

Under what description was it sold to you?

5. jbwhitaker

jbwhitaker TDPRI Member

I don't really have anything to say that would benefit you in your quest for authentication, but I would like to add.....HOLY CRAP!!!!

6. Teleguy61

Teleguy61 Friend of Leo's

Does it play good?
    Isn't that the actual question?
    If you are only concerned with its value as a TG piece, are you going to play it?
    If not, what's the point?
    Rant over.
    Thank you.

jimash likes this.
  7. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Poster Extraordinaire