Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Attenuators

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Paul Jenkin, Aug 18, 2017.

1. Paul Jenkin

Paul Jenkin Tele-Meister

Aug 17, 2017
    Essex, UK
    Hi there.

I'm a relative newbie to learning guitar. I've got a few and I'm having lessons, however, I found a really amp (Dr Z Maz18 Jr combo) but I've found I can't get the distortion sound I want unless I really crank it up. Not really an option in a semi-detached house with a wife that has the hearing of a bat.

Anyway, I've seen the Dr Z YouTube videos for a thing they call a "Brake-Lite" (their branded attenuator for my amp). It's not cheap but I might have to get one. However, I have no idea how it performs against other brands or, indeed, if other brands are an option. My amp is valve and 18w and I'm really after something that will allow me to practice in our spare room without having to get a fuzz pedal or taking out the windows...

Any suggestions would be welcome.

2. VintageSG

VintageSG Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

Mar 31, 2016
    Huddersfield, UK
    I feel your pain. The sound of power valves driven hard is glorious, yet not always appreciated by others. Odd that. I've got the Harley Benton attenuator, which in turn is a direct clone of the Jet City Jettenuator. It appears Behringer have introduced their version of it too.
    It's rather good. The 'cabsim' output is grim and the line level output is best forgotten about, but the noise from the speakers is wholly acceptable, and that's what matters.
    You'll miss the sheer physical awesomeness of moving air and some of the interaction between the speaker and the amp, but it is a small price to pay for continued domestic harmony.
    YouTube reviews may help your decision.

and

3. Milspec

Milspec Tele-Afflicted

Feb 15, 2016
    Nebraska