Anyone own a Chinese 18w tmb kit amp?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Chunkocaster, Sep 27, 2018.

1. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Friend of Leo's

I've been looking at cheaper 1974x style clone kits and the lower prices of a couple of Chinese offerings are tempting. Of the two i'm interested in is a kit with chassis, tubes and transformers. Basically a complete amp minus speaker, cab or head shell. The other is a partially assembled kit with transformers but no tubes, chassis, speaker or cab. It's on printed eyelet board though not the traditional post style that I prefer. I have very little soldering experience, just installing pups and harness. I have zero amp building experience. Wondering if anyone has had any success with these cheaper kits?

2. printer2

printer2 Poster Extraordinaire

One of the guys at work did, he loves the amp. He also put in London Power's VVR. The instructions were step by step pictorial from what I remember. I can not say which one it was though.

Chunkocaster likes this.
  3. alnicopu

alnicopu Friend of Leo's

Mable audio sells a complete 5e3 for $388.00.

Chunkocaster likes this.
  4. printer2

Mable, that was it.

Chunkocaster likes this.
  5. Musekatcher

Musekatcher Tele-Afflicted

That's assembled too. Probably a nice amp. The kit for the amp only, no cab is $230. I was joking the other night that you could build one for $200 worth of parts...I guess its no joke!

Chunkocaster and alnicopu like this.
  6. Chunkocaster

Thanks for the tip on Mable amps. They have some great prices on ready built heads in fancy head cabs. Think I might just go with one of those in red with gold piping and replace any suspect parts if needed.

The hard part seems to be explaining what I want and feeling secure that they understand and will provide what I ask for during the purchase.