Amp simulator pedal with a combo amp. In front, or effects loop?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Bluego1, Apr 20, 2019.

  1. Bluego1

    Bluego1 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Location:
    Washington
    So I recently received a Joyo American Sound amp sim pedal and I put it between the guitar and the front of the amp. It sounded pretty cool. Like using a regular pedal, eq knobs on the pedal changed the sound as did the amp eq controls. I’d read about hooking the pedal straight into the return jack of the effects loop. In other words. Guitar-pedal-return jack. So I tried it and had my amp volume controls all the way off and that sucker made a hella noise anyway when I engaged it. Ended up loving it, but was surprised that the amp controls were rendered useless. Everything was controlled by the pedal and the guitar. I’m a newbie to these amp simulator boxes and I’m not the brightest bulb in the room anyway. Does what I described sound right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2019
    tele-bastard likes this.
  2. galaxiex

    galaxiex Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Yes, the return jack on your amp goes to the power amp section of your amp.

    The pre-amp in your amp is where all the tone and volume controls are,
    so basically, the return jack by-passes the tone controls.
     
    perttime, JustABluesGuy and Bluego1 like this.
  3. JustABluesGuy

    JustABluesGuy Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    2,925
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    ^^^ This. It can also be used in place of your amp, direct to the PA.
     
    galaxiex, tele-bastard and Bluego1 like this.
  4. tele-bastard

    tele-bastard Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,081
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lowell, Mass
    It's a great pedal I always put it in front of my amp even though some people say it's the wrong way you can use it either way... definitely one of my favorite pedals if not favorite FB_IMG_1555766437947.jpg
     
    galaxiex and Bluego1 like this.
  5. perttime

    perttime Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,670
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Finland
    Whichever way works for you is right.
    There's preamp pedals that let you do both, with some extra cables and switching wizardry.
     
    Bluego1 likes this.
  6. wulfenganck

    wulfenganck Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    Seligenstadt, Germany
    This variety of uses is really the big advantage of the Joyo's (or the original design: Tech21 character series), they work like a common dirtpedal in front of the amp, directly to mixing-desk or as a separate preamp. Tried the latter as well with a small loop-switcher with my AC Tone and the Tech21 Blonde. I have a different pedalboard now, but I still use the Joyo from time to time on a session board.
     
    Bluego1 likes this.
  7. perttime

    perttime Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,670
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep. Some amps might have a Master Volume, and/or some other control, after the effects return. Depends on what amp you have.

    Plugging the pedal into the Return jack bypasses your amp's preamp section. You are using the pedal preamp instead of the amp's preamp.
     
    Bluego1 likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.