Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

amp and gear questions searching for a Pearl Jam sound!!!

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by kfawns85, Jan 1, 2018.

1. kfawns85

kfawns85 TDPRI Member

Jan 1, 2018
    central Illinois
    Hey guys,

I had a few questions for you. My wife just gave me a Fender Telecaster Nashville Deluxe with the Tex Mex pickups for Christmas. I was completely stoked. It still had the stickers on the pickups and the pick guard. Which were very hard to take off. I am new to the electric guitar. Completely lost is a better way to describe it. I have played the acoustic for about 15 years now. But as I mentioned, I am lost. I am obsessed with Pearl Jam and have been my whole life. Especially the Ten album. That is the sound I am searching for. Along with my guitar my wife got me a Fender Champion 20 amp and a Cry Baby pedal. Do you guys have any recommendation for a newbie? As to how to achieve the PJ sound I am searching for? The local shops are too cool to help me out or it feels like I am wasting their time and won't give me the time of day. Any help on achieving that sound would be greatly appreciated!!!!! Do I need a different amp, pedals, etc?? Also, I don't want to break the bank searching for it either. Maybe 400 to 500 on an amp for home???

Thanks guys!!!!!!!!

Kyle

2. LooseJack

LooseJack Tele-Meister

Feb 4, 2017
    transit lounge
    My recommendation is that chasing a studio produced sound at home is a bad use of time compared to learning to get close enough sounds with the gear you have and spending the time playing.

3. kfawns85

kfawns85 TDPRI Member

Jan 1, 2018
    central Illinois