Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Advice Please: 1x15 Cabinet Build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by pjohnny, Aug 10, 2017.

1. pjohnny

pjohnny TDPRI Member

May 10, 2015
    Iowa
    A guitar buddy of mine has an old 15" Jensen k130 and wants an inexpensive plywood open back cab for it. I've never built a guitar cabinet before but that's never stopped me on any project before so we're going to take a crack at it.

I figured I'd ask the experts before diving in.

After some research I was thinking 24x20x12 should work at fit nicely under his 24" Fuchs head.

3/4" plywood. Veneer for the ply edges. Handle. Corners. Feet. Jack. Grill cloth.
    There are plenty of 1x12 open back cab instruction sets out there. I am assuming that I can just work off of that as open back cabs need a lot less math than closed.

What am I forgetting?
    Any tips on vintage-ish silver grill cloth?

Big question: front load or back load the speaker?

Thanks for all the help!

2. Nickfl

Nickfl Tele-Holic

May 24, 2016
    Florida
    Tolex, if you want a natural wood finish, use real wood not plywood. If you are going to use plywood, find someplace local that sells real baltic birch ply (comes in 5x5' sheets, not 4x8), don't use home depot plywood, the realy BB ply is much, much stronger than the home center crap, and isn't really any more expensive if you can find a good plywood wholesaler who will sell to the public. I always back load the speaker, that way you don't have to make a separate frame for the grille cloth.

pjohnny likes this.

3. Big Steve

Big Steve Tele-Holic

Apr 24, 2006
    Here are some common dimensions from the Weber Speakers site.

https://www.tedweber.com/media/cabdims.pdf