Add a cap?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Mark the Moose, May 20, 2019.

1. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Meister

I'm planning a partscaster build, and considering adding a flame maple cap to an unfinished body. My thought is to pick up an unfinished body, plane it down according to the thickness of the cap panel(1/8 to 1/4"), glue the cap in place, then route to match the body and cutouts. Anybody done this before?

I'm an amateur woodworker with good tools but a project like this would be new to me.

2. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Tele-Afflicted

Most of my guitars have one kind of body wood with a different cap on top - usually mahogany with some sort of show off wood. I make my bodies from scratch (if you can do all the planing and capping you are certainly capable of cutting out a body).

Adding a cap ("drop top") opens some interesting possibilities - for one you can hide channels for wiring inside the body and if you are really creative, you can shave a pound or two off the guitar by chambering it. Adding the cap also introduces some minor considerations - you may have to deal with the woods differently when it comes time to finish (the body may need pore filling, you may decide to enhance the top, the seam between them may be an issue, you might even decide to bind).

Another minor gotcha is routing the top back to the body - potential problem areas are the neck pocket and the jack hole (the follower bearing can fall into these and mess up the route).

Here are two guitars with different tops from their bodies

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/a-chambered-tele-ish-sort-of-thing.884657/

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/a-chambered-lpish-looking-thing.874641/

Mark the Moose likes this.
  3. Nickfl

Nickfl Tele-Afflicted

If you are capable of doing that, just build the whole thing from scratch.

jvin248 likes this.
  4. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Meister