Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

A couple of Tele builds

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by ctmullins, Sep 21, 2018.

1. ctmullins

ctmullins TDPRI Member Ad Free Member

Sep 9, 2018
    MS Gulf Coast
    Hi everybody!

First, a bit of introduction: I’m really a bassist, and I’ve been building basses for the last ten years. I’m sorta getting decent at it. But I’ve joined another band as a keyboard player, and this band’s repertoire includes a few songs that don’t actually have any key parts. So rather than sit there and watch my mates bash away on their guitars, I figured I’d join them.

I did build one guitar about five years ago, and that’s the one I’ve been practicing and rehearsing on. It’s a Les Paul Special double-cut, quilt maple over sapele for the body, three-piece rock maple neck, pau ferro fretboard, a pair of P90s, and a wraparound bridge. Plays pretty well, but I’ve improved my skills since then, so I thought I’d give the skinny strings another whirl.

My tastes have always run to the Gibson side of the spectrum, mainly because of my dislike for the numerous shortcuts and compromises that Leo institutionalized. Granted, the man was a genius of pragmatism, but that which is beneficial for mass modular production isn’t necessarily that which is optimal for the player. Still, I’ve recently taken a shine to the Tele shape; I even built one up into a bass a few years ago. Now I’ve decided to build another, to add to my six-string collection.