A blue moon has risen.

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by fasteddie42, Jun 14, 2019.

1. fasteddie42

fasteddie42 Tele-Holic

Two amps popped up locally.

Fender exclesior with hang tags for $200

Fender bassman Ltd for $850

I would love to hear any advice/experiences/guidence as I have zero experience with these amps and both are used private seller scenarios.

My current flavors are a 65 prri, fender greta, and a pro junior.

I feel like the excelsior is in the same wheelhouse. (though I'm an admitted pawn shop series fan, and I love a good deal)

The Bassman ltd caught my eye.

I've been craving somthing sweet like my princeton but with a tighter bass at louder volumes. Plus... 4x10 seems like it'd be fun :twisted:

I understand the scattershot nature of this thread, I'm fine with whatever you'd like to share.

Thanks y'all!

2. kbold

kbold Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

Fender Bassman has been a popular amp for generations, both for bass and guitar. Can't comment further, as I don't have one.

3. Silverface

Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Let's get this out of the way - the Excelsior is a cheapo chinese-built amp made to look like a fancy boutique brand of some sort. 13 watts, an awful speaker and a pressboard cabinet. It's a fun looking, OK sounding amp for beginners or experienced player/techs with lots of time who like to strip out chassis and do mods. I got one REALLY cheap, put a real tone control on it (it does not have one), did a bunch of mods, installed good tubes and a great speaker and gave it to a broke friend that could not afford an amp. What I did was worth more than the value of the amp. Don't waste your time. Your Princeton is probably louder and is definitely better sounding.

The Bassman is in another category altogether but a very loud amp by the time you reach enough volume to drive the output stage and speaker for good clean tone - so lets get THIS out of the way:

What style(s) do you play?