Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

'98 Affinity Tele

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by JD59, Sep 19, 2018.

1. JD59

JD59 NEW MEMBER!

Sep 19, 2018
    US
    Hi Everyone, just signed up.

I just bought this 1998 Squier Affinity Tele, MIC, Serial starts with CY981...

It has a thick body, 1.75 rosewood fret board but other than that, I don't know if it's worth keeping as is.

My question for anyone is, since I'm new to all this, should I leave this alone or would it matter if I re-color it. I hate the black. I want to maybe make a warm grey color or something.

If anyone has any ideas or info on this, thanks for the help in advance

Attached Files:

2. slinger

slinger Friend of Leo's

Mar 7, 2013
    wild west
    you have a very affordable decent sounding and playing Tele with no collecter value..go nuts!..[​IMG]

WetBandit likes this.

3. slinger

slinger Friend of Leo's

Mar 7, 2013
    wild west

4. slinger

slinger Friend of Leo's

Mar 7, 2013
    wild west

5. JD59

JD59 NEW MEMBER!

Sep 19, 2018
    US
    Love the color choices! A little extreme for me though.

Any suggestions on any upgrades other than a new set of strings? I think I have a new Tusq XL black that may fit it too.

Sounds really nice now.

6. slinger

slinger Friend of Leo's

Mar 7, 2013
    wild west

after spending thousands of dollars and owning dozens of guitars and modding lots of them...….…………..here's what I would do....play the crap out of it..good luck

telestratosonic likes this.

7. hippychip

hippychip Tele-Meister

Dec 7, 2015
    Florida
    New strings are not an upgrade---but that is all I would do :)

nicod98 likes this.

8. Telecentric

Telecentric Tele-Meister

Nov 23, 2016
    Boulder Creek, Ca