5e3p Proluxe build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Edvin, Apr 9, 2019.

  1. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Of course...
    Rookie mistake from me here.
    Guess its diodes then. Will 2n4007 be fine?
     
  2. D'tar

    D'tar Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,972
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Yep
     
    Edvin likes this.
  3. D'tar

    D'tar Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,972
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Oh Hey wait... 2n4007? Maybe not

    1n4007 yes
     
  4. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Ya i ment 1n4007. Just typed too fast again.
     
    D'tar likes this.
  5. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    @D'tar
    I will also need to make a bridge rectifier for the bias here right?
    It mesures 39.7vac at 220v mains
     
  6. D'tar

    D'tar Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,972
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    I would copy the original bias circuit

    Screenshot_2019-04-19-16-58-59.png
     
    muswell_hillbilly and Edvin like this.
  7. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    +1 on D'tar's recommendation :)

    Make sure you observe the diode and capacitor polarities! You're generating a negative DC bias supply!

    With the ~40 VAC bias winding voltage you reported, you will have an approximate range of bias voltages from -30 VDC to -38 VDC. Good luck!



    vbias_circuit.png

    Vbias_Curves.png
     
    Edvin likes this.
  8. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
  9. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Ya i understood that part.
     
  10. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    No offense intended. Observations are as much for other readers (myself included) as the original poster.

    Seems like you've made great progress! Good luck!
     
  11. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Sorry if i seemed offended. Im not and are grateful for all help.
    It kinda a language barrier i guess. English is not my first language so i kinda speak in short sentences for my own convinence.

    I have done a few repairs on amplifiers and built quite a few pedals, so i have some understanding of circuts but building a amp from scratch if a new experience for me.
     
    robrob likes this.
  12. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    I thought that might be the case (language), but wanted to play it safe and just reach out - no worries.

    Sounds like we're in similar positions - I've had a lot of exposure to electronics (mostly digital), but this amp business is all new to me.

    Pleased to meet you, Edvin - "see" you on the forum!
     
    Mr Ridesglide and Edvin like this.
  13. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI

    This has really been bugging me:

    upload_2019-4-20_11-50-27.png


    It took a lot of searching before accidentally stumbling on it in a diagram for a 3-phase motor starter...
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2019
    Snfoilhat and D'tar like this.
  14. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    So I think this is making sense now. If this is just a thermal overload and does not bring in any additional winding, it would explain why your secondary voltage didn't change when you switched between violet and black/red on your primary input.
     
  15. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    Puzzle indeed... Hats off to you, D'tar, for successfully applying your transformer decoder ring to this diagram! As I was searching around for information to better understand it myself, I found a transformer in a Fender '93 Super with the same part number, but featuring a center-tapped bias supply:

    upload_2019-4-20_13-23-28.png

    and for good measure, the secondary side connection names were also switched around ;)
     
  16. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    So im back at this again.
    Its been a while since i worked on this mainly cause its become some sort of nemesis, so i have delayed going forward.

    But Ive build a brigde rectifier with 1n4007's.
    Reading i get:
    At 220ac i get 295dc
    At 230ac i get 305dc

    Isnt that a bit low for a pair of 6L6's?
     
  17. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    31,749
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    https://schematicheaven.net/fenderamps/hotrod_deluxe.pdf

    If you are using a Hot Rod Deluxe power transformer, then you would expect to see similar results as seen in the HRD schematic in the link....under loaded conditions. With no tubes in the circuit, you should see higher voltage as a B+ leaving the rectifier. What is the AC voltage on the red secondaries feeding the rectifier? When disconnected from the rectifier?

    Observation: the output of the PT is not necessarily too low for 6L6’s if one designed for such low voltage. And the ProLux...which is in essence a 5E5 Pro which is a 5E3 circuit with different transformers and 6L6’s....should run higher voltage than that if it is true to the vintage Fender approach. The voltages should be lower than the Modern Fenders use, as well...but you are using a modern PT so you will have higher voltage unless you drop some voltage in some manner....once you get the PT and rectifier putting out the voltage they should put out.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2019
  18. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    HRD strøm.png Im using the HRD tranny yes.
    At 220 i get 324vac
    At 230 i get 337vac

    According to HRD schematics it should be 431vdc after rectifier.
    I use 1n4007 for rectifier not 1n5062 like the original HRD circut.

    Something gotta be wrong here.
     
    Wally likes this.
  19. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    31,749
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Edvin, lift the secondarily red wires from their connections and take an AC voltage measurement on across them. What do you read?
     
  20. Edvin

    Edvin TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    The mesurements in last post is with nothing hooked up, just straigt outa transformer.
    Variac at 220ac i get 324ac,
    Variac at 230ac i get 337ac

    20190624_192312a.jpg
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.