5E3 Ground Switch Help

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by TeleToTheRain, Aug 30, 2014.

1. TeleToTheRain

TeleToTheRain Tele-Holic

They guy I bought my chassis from has a huge cap wired from ground to one side of the ground switch and nothing coming off the other side :confused: So I assume it's not doing anything (not that it would be even if it were wired correctly since I have a 3 prong cord) but I want to remove it and use it as a Standby.

I know the debate about not needing a Standby, but I'd like to put it in as long as it's not harmful.

Not sure if I can use this switch or need a different type. I've read that it can just interrupt the B+ from the rectifier tube before the first cap, but then some say the cap has to be able to handle the spike... it may pop, something about CT, HT, something or other.

I'm new to amps as you can tell.... just installed the proper transformer and noticed this was going on... and it's referred to as a "death cap" -- do I need to discharge it differently? As I said, I don't think it's doing anything at all wired the way it is now.

any help would be welcome, thanks in advance!

2. andyfromdenver

andyfromdenver Friend of Leo's

Hi TTTR.
    I'll help you out cause of where you live :)

It would be helpful to see some picks. If it's a similar sized switch to, say, your power switch it should be fine for standby. You might even keep the cap in place for pop reduction. All depends on what is seen though.

Do you have a multimeter? Do you have some jumpers to drain the electrolytic caps?

You're right, you simply interrupt the B+ after the rectifier.

I saw your other thread about anchoring down the board. Need pics.

Ttyl

3. TeleToTheRain

TeleToTheRain Tele-Holic

thanks, it can be rough down here! Yupp, got all the tools. actually, I don't have a capacitor/wire to drain the caps, I just power it up until the tubes are warm and then shut it off.