4th of July Caster

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by I_build_my_own, Jul 5, 2013.

1. I_build_my_own

I_build_my_own Friend of Leo's

This is the official start my “4th of JulyCaster”.

Pickguard has a 4th of July compliant theme :lol:
    Body is poplar and will be painted white, which will go well with the pickguard.
    Bridge and middle pickup are 80s (NOS) hot wound ALNICO 5 Rockinger single coils,
    Neck pickup, 2 ceramics single coils.
    Neck will be a repurposed Charvel Model 3 neck with rosewood fretboard
    To honor the 80’s design, I’ll put a Kahler style tremolo on which I am currently finishing up.

Since I am a slow builder with other ongoing construction sites, I hope I am done in time for the next Jul 4th celebration.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  2. Bentley

Bentley Friend of Leo's

Maybe I should build a July 1st Caster! that would be cool.

3. ItZaLLGooD

ItZaLLGooD Tele-Holic

I really like it. Where did you get the pickgaurd?

4. R. Stratenstein

R. Stratenstein Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Looks cool, Helmut, with all the builds you've got going, you're a contender for the Rich Rice Award

5. I_build_my_own

I got it off ebay, a while ago. I think I saw it a Allparts at one point.

6. I_build_my_own

The spare time over the last days was dedicated to polishing the tremolo, before it gets nickel plated by a fellow TDPRI member. Here the tremolo / pieces that will go on the guitar - before and after polishing. It collected some rust over the years of patiently waiting for a purpose in life.
    [​IMG]

Tremolo frame and fine tuning holders polished with 800 grid.
    [​IMG]

I have to redo the initial brass clamp covers and make them out of steel. The local Home Depot didn’t have any 2mm flat steel raw material, but they had $1 door hinges with about 2mm thickness that worked out perfectly as a donor. 
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]