Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

4 Rustkaster steel body Telecasters !

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by The Crash Cowboy, Aug 31, 2016.

1. The Crash Cowboy

The Crash Cowboy Tele-Meister

Aug 31, 2016
    The Netherlands
    Hi all ! I'm from the Netherlands, and a newbie here. I joined this forum to show you the process of building a few steel body Telecasters (and a Billy Bo). I am a hobby welder, no pro !

[​IMG]

A few months ago I finished my first build: The Crash Cowboy Rustkaster 0001. I wrote a blog on a Dutch forum, but I decided to go 'international' cause I need lots of help building the axes ! So be prepared to read a lot of questions to you all, below here; and feel free to post answers, tips & comments ! I really need them !

Allow me to start this thread with showing you some pics of Rustkaster 0001 ! The guitar has an all steel body, welded around a wood central core. I put a single Fender Custom Shop Nocaster '51 bridge pickup in it, and the neck is Allparts. Next builds will also have a wood core; the weight of the first Rustkaster is very reasonable, 3635 grams !

Here she is:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Rust never sleeps (this is after a few months):
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  2. blowtorch

blowtorch Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

May 2, 2003
    Wisco
  3. The Crash Cowboy

Aug 31, 2016
    The Netherlands
    Here's the plan for the next months:

I recently finished some AutoCAD drawings in real size of 4 new steel bodies. This week (I hope) they will be cut out of a steel plate using a waterjet. A friend of mine arranged that.