Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

10k or 11.5k 0038 for pine?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Telegraphonic, Aug 28, 2017.

1. Telegraphonic

Telegraphonic TDPRI Member

Feb 4, 2017
    Memphis
    Putting together old growth pine body and wanted to ask people that've played or are familiar with both what would be better choice. I've no experience with tonal properties of pine. I play dirty blues with reverb. Any help would be great.

2. Antigua Tele

Antigua Tele Tele-Afflicted

Jun 2, 2014
    west coast
    This is possibly the most arcane question I've ever seen asked here.

nojazzhere likes this.

3. ftbtx

ftbtx Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Ihave the 10K in mine and I like it; never tried the hotter version.

Telegraphonic likes this.

4. Derek Kiernan

Derek Kiernan Friend of Leo's

Sep 7, 2008
    Princeton, NJ
    Well, what are you looking at, or what are you looking for? DC resistance independently doesn't tell you much, so it's better to start with particular pickups and figure out where you're trying to go from there.

Gibson, Telegraphonic and Iago like this.

5. heffus

heffus Tele-Meister

Apr 20, 2014
    cHICAGO
    When you consider all the factors that go into determining your guitar sound, I don't think 1.5k of dc in either direction is gonna prevent you from doing your thing. The hotter one is likely to have slightly more mids/less treble, but all that can be made up for with those knobs on your amp and guitar.

6. puddin

puddin Tele-Meister

Apr 14, 2010
    Punta Gorda, florida
    I have both.. Don Mare 0038 @ 10k in my Kirn Barnbuster, and 11.5 in my 72 tele custom. Both great pickups.. Get the 11.5 just killer.. if you want 10k just roll off the volume. Cheers

7. Derek Kiernan