The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Home » Guitar & Accessory Reviews » Electric Guitar Reviews
Picture_114.jpg

 
Fender American Vintage '62 Custom Telecaster
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 18806 Sun July 28, 2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,599.67 9.5
Picture_114.jpg


Picture_114.jpg
supersize

Picture_112.jpg
supersize

Picture_117.jpg
supersize







Description: 2011 '62 Vintage Custom series Tele with vintage case, custom colors, body binding, 7.25 rad rosewood fretboard, vintage frets, vintage style Gotoh tuners, vintage 60s pups and bridge/grooved steel saddle. Set up with '53 electric control wiring.
Keywords: 2011 Custom Surf Green Telecaster Vintage '62
Find the lowest price for the :
 
Posts: 77
Registered: October 2011
Location: Colorado



Author
Telegraff


Registered: October 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 77
Review Date: Sat October 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nitro finish is excellant, neck sm C shape smooth finish,vintage frets and 7.25 radius is great, light weight, and all apointmens are well crafted.
Cons: Comes set up with '52 wiring, back=bridge pu, mid=neck& bridge pu, forward=neck with highs muted. Fender sends a 22uf cap for installation for better tone but that's not worth the installation effort. Case is a middle quality construction, not nearly

I really like this guitar, that said I'll make some changes. First are the saddles, intonation capabilities is fair, string spacing and alignment are off. Rewiring to modern Tele, my preference, to have neck, neck-bridge, bridge switch. A better cap for tone control.

The neck is absolutely awesome, custom shop quality.

The body and Nitro finish is as well.

Those are fairly inexpensive upgrades to what is in my opinion a great quality guitar for the money. I found this one at a better price so I feel I can make the upgrades.

------------------------------
Buddy Holly was my cousin.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Telegraff


Registered: October 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 77
Review Date: Wed November 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,550.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: The guitars fit & finish are top notch- neck is awesome.
Cons: Made changes in saddles and got better intonation

I went ahead and installed the D. Allen Cheetas and it made a world of difference. The bridge has the expected spank and the neck is FAR superior. Added a .033 cap and made tone control usable from 2 to 10.

------------------------------
Buddy Holly was my cousin.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AlienXists

Registered: October 2009
Location: London
Posts: 35
Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Hello can you help me please... I really need your help! one of my friend just bought this telecaster (link below) and we are in doubt if its an original... can anyone help me plz?? really appreciate it



http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...ht_5081wt_1041
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Telegraff


Registered: October 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 77
Review Date: Mon December 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Neck is Custom shop quality
Cons: Nun to date

Just did a fret level and it made a world of difference on string height set-up.

Got the level tool on ebay from AxeMasters and they come with sandpaper in 2 grits. Used 320 which has plenty of cut ability. Easy DIY job.

------------------------------
Buddy Holly was my cousin.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
LittleSonny

Registered: June 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Neck is as good as they get. Superb comstruction.
Cons: A little more figuring in the neck would be nice but that's asking for the horse and the cart.

I've had mine '62 AVRI Custom Telecaster for about a month now. I really like it. The neck is superb. The pickups are stonkin', fit and finish are top class, and all together it's a beautiful guitar and a delight to play.



I've seen some reviewers say it's pricey. I disagree. I went and tried a Custom Shop version and a Nash, both fine guitars but at $1,000 more and they were used. The AVRI is Custom Shop quality in everything but fancier woods. Even that is not too far off. The neck on mine is fairly plain but the body is nicely grained which shows through the finish nicely. I never liked the white pickguard and swapped it for a black three ply. Every other guitar player who's seen it comments on what a nice guitar it is.



Part of me wishes I would have waited and found one 2nd hand and saved some money but double bound customs don't come up so often and I've not seen one in sunburst. If you like black or solid red you might find one without too much of a wait.



Bottomline, I love this guitar. I play it more. It inspires me. It will ultimately make me a better player
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


 


Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0 vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.