The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Home » Guitar & Accessory Reviews » Electric Guitar Reviews

 
Fender Road Worn 50s Telecaster
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 13441 Tue August 19, 2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $701.00 9.0












Description: I bought a 50s ash bodied Road Worn Tele a few weeks ago and I've got to say I'm very impressed all round.

For me, it's biggest draw is it's neck.

It's basically a baseball bat! Big and chunky but with a relatively flat fingerboard and large frets. Most of the finish has been removed on the back. It just feels amazing.

Fender's MIM 50s reissue has a similar shape but the small frets and enormous arched fingerboard just doesn't feel as good to me.



The Tex Mex pickups are good (v. good infact) but I quickly swapped them for a Seymour Duncan Quarter Pounder and a Hot Rails. I like to mess with guitars so these changes were more for my benefit than the guitar's- the stock pickups are great.



There's something about these Road Worn guitars that just sound and play better than any other Teles. Maybe it's the fact that most of the finish has been removed thereby allowing the wood to breathe more, or maybe it's just nice to have a guitar that feels like there's a story behind it (even though it's come straight out of the factory).

Either way, it just sounds a plays better than just about anything I've tried.

And for the price... it's SERIOUSLY good value!
Keywords: road worn telecaster 50s blond ash
Find the lowest price for the :
 
Posts: 4
Registered: October 2010
Location: london



Author
twulf

Registered: December 2010
Location: Solingen / Germany
Review Date: Thu December 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tone and Handling
Cons: Aging on Fretboard is weak

Got them new some weeks ago - its my first tele (donīt know why?) since i start to play in 1978 and I ask myself what Iīve missed al the years :-)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hank57

Registered: February 2011
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat February 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Feels dead on vintage. Great fit of parts. Neck awesome.
Cons: None

Had alot of guitars mainly strats but this fulfills my tele dream.. So superior to the American Special and Standards. They have no soul. This one does. Ultra light weight ash body....what can I say
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DeanTeamCV


Registered: October 2010
Location: California
Posts: 6
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $599.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons:

BEST TELE OUT NOW, PERIOD. MOJO.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit DeanTeamCV's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
monkeyminion

Registered: June 2011
Location: lacrosse, wisconsin
Review Date: Mon June 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $537.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: FEEL
Cons: white pickguard (mine now has the black)

I did not know soul could be machined into an instrument, until I inadvertently ended up with this Road Worn 50's style MIM blond tele. I received this guitar instead of what I had mail ordered. I will not be sending it back. It has now replaced my $1500.00 MIA deluxe fat Strat. as my favorite electric guitar.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tele Bee

Registered: January 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 346
Review Date: Tue January 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Feel, sound, looks...pick one.
Cons: Has caused severe Strat neglect.

Straight up, this guitar gets better and better the more I play it. Yeah, the idea behind relic is cheesy, but dang, this axe kills! Silky, smooth neck, easy bends, twangy, country sound, beautiful chime sound in middle position, beautifully visible wood grain. I wanted a guitar that was completely different than my American Strat, and boy does it deliver on many levels. I dont care that it is MIM- it plays great so who cares? Im not worried about re-sale value as I plan on keeping it for a lifetime. Its a guitar to play and cherish, not an investment. I wouldve prefered this same guitar without the relic job, but it doesnt exist. And for all who think that this is just a standard MIM that is rubbed raw in a few spots, you are greatly mistaken. (And I love the white pickguard. It is unique since alot of players seem to switch to black, and that black and yellow color combo reminds me too much of the Pittsburgh Steelers)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bluuzguy

Registered: March 2009
Location: Henderson,Nv
Posts: 22
Review Date: Thu October 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $740.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Resonant and lively
Cons: cookie cutter relicing, fretboard wear unrealistic

I bought this to take out instead of my relic nocaster. It plays and sounds great, although not up to par w/my nocaster. Great value!

------------------------------
You can't have just one!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TeleKato


Registered: March 2011
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 2413
Review Date: Tue August 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $630.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: substantial neck, nice overall look, and really feels good to play
Cons: fingerboard wear pattern; hope it looks better with age

I bought this used -- 2006 model here in 2014. Whomever had it before took good care of it, did a fret level/crown/polish, and 'upgraded' the pickups and wiring. I really like how it feels to play and the neck is great. It's not a Nocaster but it seems to me a lot like the '52RI I had (a 2011 model). The wear on the back of the neck looks good and with a little extra work has become truly outstanding. The fingerboard wear, though, really is the weak part of this. I'm not willing to try any aging -- many have advised to leave it alone for resale (wise). I hope with some natural aging it will look better than it does -- like someone went nuts with sandpaper. Surely Fender could've devised a production method to make it look more like normal finger/playing wear? Guess not. Don't dwell on that ... it is a great guitar; one of the best MIMs I've ever touched.

------------------------------
.
One God, that I can understand; but one Tele? That is not civilized. It is not generous!

Caution: This post is caveated by the fact the Poster may be, in actuality, a MRON.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


 


Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0 vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.