The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Home » Amps, Pickup & Other Related Items » Pickup Reviews
3-Tele_s.jpg

 
Fender Custom Shop 'Texas Specials Tele Pickups Texas Special Pickups
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 31649 Fri December 6, 2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $100.00 9.3
3-Tele_s.jpg


3-Tele_s.jpg
supersize









Description: Great Sounding Pups with alot of growl. If you want extra Twank and snap, these will do it. Show up with these in your Tele and know how to actually play a Tele, and you will out **** the other guitar players for sure. These pups will raise alot of eye brows.
Keywords: Tele pickups
Find the lowest price for the :
Former Member
 
Posts: 4,102
Registered: August 2008
Location: Maryland



Author
jackal

Registered: June 2010
Location: mojave desert
Posts: 886
Review Date: Wed August 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great sound, easy installation.
Cons: none

Put a set of these in a MIM ash Tele and wow! Not only a great Tele tone, but lots of character. Really livened up the guitar, very solid sound. Used new pots, caps, and a 4-way switch and now it's my go-to gig axe.

------------------------------
Used to be a Gibson-holic, but recovering nicely with Teles.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
redriding


Registered: January 2012
Location: huddersfield uk
Posts: 149
Review Date: Mon February 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Big solid tones verging on p90
Cons: maybe not enough twang for some

Put the bridge csts in my partscaster which is largely made from american standard parts.

Big solid tones that still sound like a tele but with a more muscular foundation in the lows and lower mids.Almost sound P90ish.

They sound huge with a bit (or lot) of drive but clean up wonderfully.

Maybe not enough twang for chicken pickers but for bluesers and rockers they fit the bill nicely.

I paired mine with an american standard neck pickup.Volume wise they are a good match,sound lovely on together and as a bonus they are hum cancelling with both on.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dennis Brown


Registered: October 2013
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 244
Review Date: Fri December 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $160.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full body sound, thick tone that can still cut through the mix
Cons: Not as "twangy" as traditional Tele pickups

First, they sound nothing like the Strat Tex Specials. I know because earlier this year I bought a set for a Strat, and sold them a week later.

Bought my Tele set many years ago for a 94 MIM Tele. I have literally worn the frets off the guitar that uses these and will add a new neck soon. It became my main guitar for years playing rockabilly/country/blues. Probably best suited for thick clean to moderately dirty, but they will handle all the gain you can throw at them. I haven't noticed any more noise than any other Tele pickup.

They don't twang and lack the sizzle and shrill bite of a vintage pickup, and like the above review, I agree that they are closer to a P90 in tone, yet with a Tele flavor to them. They still have plenty of highs, they are just not two dimensional, and picking style can easily coax different sounds. Each pickup has its own distinct tone, yet they mix perfectly.

The neck pickups is so warm and woody sounding, it makes you want to play jazz. You can force some of the thicker SRV tones from it as well. The bridge pickup is just a solid, even tone that begs for classic rock and modern country. Even run perfectly clean, you still get some of that flavor you normally only see when you push the amp just a little bit. The most full bodied single coil I've ever played when using zero distortion.

Very easy to set the amp to just breaking, roll the volume to 7 or 8 for a clean sound, then roll it to 10 to get that breaking edge without a huge jump in volume. It handles low levels of distortion exceptionally smooth, with no ragged edges to the sound, likely because it is slightly hotter than average. Neck is reverse wound, so perfect for a 4 way switch. Used together, they have a boost in volume and very balanced, acoustic quality that lacks jangle but has a full range humbucker flavor.

------------------------------
"Sometimes 'rare' really means that no one wanted it in the first place, so they stopped making it.' - Oscar Wilde
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dennis Brown's homepage! Find more posts by this user  


 


Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0 vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.