The Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world. Information on electric guitars, amps, effects, and more. With guitar photo galleries, Free guitar Classified Ads, guitar reviews, music and guitar articles, guitar resources and more.
fender telecaster electric guitar discussion forum and galleries and classifieds and reviews.
Make a donation with PayPal Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day

Supporting Vendors
Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence El Dorado Guitar Accessories Lace Music Products Acme Guitar Works Carlton Guitars GuitarSale.com Warmoth.com
advertise on the tdpri 
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum

Notices

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 24th, 2007, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
blue metalflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ireland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,725
UK E Bay query

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FENDER-ESQUIRE...em260079338098

Am I being too suspicious or is this a load of rubbish?

The same seller has had more than a few dubious listings.

blue metalflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
GTO
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peak District
Posts: 775
I have no idea what this guy is up to. The worst that can be said on the basis of the auction is that he isn't a very good promoter of his wares. I have never seen a black CS Esquire, but have heard of them, and the 'feel' of the (poor) photo's says to me the guitar that was photographed is probably genuine. Is this the same guy that has had a Nocaster on and off Ebay for the last (seems like) six months? Then he just slagged people off for not buying into his flakey description, and that one looked genuine as well.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
blue metalflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ireland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,725
Yes you got him OK - that nocaster has been listed so many times it could probably get to e bay on its own. Its always pulled with around a day to go.

Everything he sells is supposed to be custom shop, and at one stage I wondered was he putting his own decals on - would that be possible?
blue metalflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scarborough United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue metalflake
I wondered was he putting his own decals on - would that be possible?
Not that I am accusing anyone. But

It is possible as there are some very good reproduction decals available,
Paulprobuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,060
This guy's constantly giving iffy descriptions on his items, and instructins to not email, because he's sick of hate mail!

I just steer clear of him. Shame if he rips someone off though.
chickenpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
blue metalflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ireland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,725
The problem is that he will for sure rip someone off at some time.

have you seen his feedback - he must either move some reasonable stuff, or else some people are easily pleased.

By the way, I've e-mailed him on stuff, and been right royally abused for doing so.
blue metalflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Fatmanstratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fatmanville, Cambs., UK
Posts: 3,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulprobuild
It is possible as there are some very good reproduction decals available,
Ten a penny. The original artwork is available on the net. I've made 'em in my signshop for fun - they look just like the originals.

That's why I'm always so dubious about CS decals (and ALL Fender decals, in fact...).
__________________
.
.

.
"Behind every argument is someone's ignorance."
Fatmanstratman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.