Telecaster Guitar Forum
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone with respect, no matter how difficult that may be. No hate, politics, religion, sex or drug discussions.
No Commercial Posts: Do not use the TDPRI to buy or sell anything.
Telecaster Guitar Resources Guitar T-shirts
Guitar Tuner
6
E
5
A
4
D
3
G
2
B
1
E
Telecaster Music Shop

Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 4th, 2006, 05:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,929
IMPORTANT EBAY FRAUD WARNING 02/04 - Tele content

A recently discussed eBay Tele is listed again, as a 1-day auction, ending today 02/04.

The title:
1952 Fender Telecaster Electric Guitar RARE Original
includes original gig bag and strap
Item #7387890199

CAUTION - WHEN CLICKING ON THE AUCTION ITEM AT EBAY YOU MAY BE TAKEN OFF EBAY

If you search and find this item, and click on the title at eBay, it may launch a sign-in page with the following web address:
http://signn.ipdz.com/in.html

THAT IS NOT EBAY.

That is a hack. It is harvesting eBay user IDs and passwords. DO NOT enter your user information on a page with that address.
slack is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old February 4th, 2006, 06:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Scotland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, Yewrup
Age: 54
Posts: 6,513
Thank you

Thanks for the warning.
__________________
All those who believe in psycho-kinesis, raise my hand !
Scotland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 08:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Colo Springs E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 5,204
Good grief......

....looks like that item's been de-listed, but now it's gotten so sophisticated, I can actually be IN eBay, and somehow some criminal can get an item listed that once you go to bid on it, takes you to "their" site where they can get your info?

That might just do it for me...
__________________
Think I'll pack it in and
Buy a pickup
Take it down to LA...
Colo Springs E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
TG
Friend of Leo's
 
TG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Beside a bog in the west of Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 4,504
Get into the habit of checking the web address whenever you're at a sign-in page.
And try to get familiar with what it should say.

On ebay the sign-in page URL will be something like...'signin.ebay.whatever....'


And I try to use the same routes and links when I navigate around the site. And NEVER use any link on ANY email. Even a legitimate one. Go to your home page the normal way and any messages/offers will be there.
TG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
gitarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,094
SOMETHING ELSE TO SHARE WITH YOU GUYS....

I don't want to hijack this thread, but its important. I have gotten several emails from people.They have claimed to have won an auction that I put out on ebay. They had the same ebay format, that ebay questions have. This comes complete with a link to the ebay item.Here is the catch.When you click on the link, the sign in page comes up(the phoney one). I got suspicious, and went to my ebay and did a search to see if the item was ever listed. It never was.I checked my ebay, to see if the item was listed under my name.Never was. Ihave notified ebay time and time again. They say that they are working on it, but the messages keep coming.
__________________
Just my two cents.
gitarjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 5,582
Re: SOMETHING ELSE TO SHARE WITH YOU GUYS....

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitarjoe
I have notified ebay time and time again. They say that they are working on it, but the messages keep coming.
I think millions of people are getting this scam and others. I get emails that are formated like "Questions from Members" for items I obviously don't have listed. I get official notices that my account has been suspended. I get fake ebay emails asking for my shipping address to send the item I won. Etc.

All anyone has to do is run their cursor over the link to see that none of these go directly to ebay.com. Most go to IP addresses.

Truth is, the scammers don't even know if you have an Ebay account. They broadcast their fraud emails and know that a certain percentage will land on folks with an Ebay account.

As Ebay says over and over again. Never go to Ebay from a link. At least never sign in from a link. I'm sure the day will come when someone will post a link to an Ebay auction here that will be a Phishing scam. It's bound to happen.

Paul Green
PS. But Slacks thread is much more serious. If an auction ON EBAY can contain links to fraud pages, will that's just gotta stop. The internet is too anonymous if it protects all these scammers from prosecution.
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2006, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Mark Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bakersfield Ca.
Age: 58
Posts: 12,876
I clicked on that link a couple days ago all the fonts changed to something I dont see on ebay and it asked for my name and password which I thought was strange cause I was already signed in.

So I didnt give it my name and password but I can see where it would be real easy to fall for this if you werent savy.

Stay signed in on ebay that way if something asks for your name and pass again you know its fishy.

Too bad we cant just flip a switch and make EBay go away I think it does more harm than good so many people get ripped off there.
__________________
I'm so blind my seeing eye dog needs glasses.
Mark Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2006, 05:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Fatmanstratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fatmanville, Cambs., UK
Posts: 2,933
AOL already aware...

I clicked on the link provided by Slack and received the following screen from AOL:



Seems like AOL are already onto this sort of crap.

I also received an email (via eBay) this week from some guy threatening to "report me to ebay for non-payment" etc. I've never even heard of them. Needless to say, it had the good old "Sign in to eBay now to advise them of how you are going to put right this problem" screen, with an eBay logon id box and password box RIGHT THERE in the email! This is a screenshot of part of the email:



eBay - good or evil - YOU decide!
__________________
.
.

.
"Behind every argument is someone's ignorance."
Fatmanstratman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2006, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
TerryOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 126
'52 Tele status?

So...After all that, was the Tele legit? Was the auction legit? Do we know how much it went for? I last saw it at about $45k...
TerryOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2006, 05:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,929
Re: '52 Tele status?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryOz
So...After all that, was the Tele legit? Was the auction legit? Do we know how much it went for? I last saw it at about $45k...
There have been multiple fraudulant listings for that Tele. This was one of the them.

Here is the original thread:
http://tdpri.com/viewtopic.php?t=46442

Here is the original listing, which ends today:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=7385745732
slack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2008 All rights reserved.