|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Resources | TeleShop | Gallery | Classifieds | Reviews | Register | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
|
Somebody on the TDPRI has a VIRUS...
And their computer is sending out this virus with webmaster@tdpri.com as the sender. I'm getting bombarded with bounce notices this afternoon.
Yes, I've triple checked. Its not my computer or the TDPRI server. If you get one of these it's not from me. Paul Green |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Midwest
Age: 58
Posts: 1,662
|
Not me Paul...
...just did a full scan with Norton. I'm clean as a virgin.
Tom
__________________
jumpnblues "Heaven St." (Original Blues Instrumental): http://www.box.net/shared/static/z96atf0zn2.mp3 http://www.myspace.com/drbluezz |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Sober Virus Outbreak is being touted as being the biggest outbreak ever, but the regular news media is not reporting much about it. I know it is clogging email servers and slowing down a lot of sites because of the sheer volume of email the virus is causing infected computers to send.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/jameswilsey |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
Poster Extraordinaire
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LIttle Rock, AR
Age: 52
Posts: 5,434
|
Quote:
Page width issues seem to be fixed today. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Poster Extraordinaire
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West Branch Mi.
Posts: 6,554
|
McAfee came up clear, i ran the scans at www.pcpitstop.com and came up clear, and i also used a freeware av app, and came up clean....
i did notice the TDPRI pages were much slower to load yesterday.... |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Meister
|
We can help Paul .... If you recieve one of these
I am a "Cop" at a very large ISP, I deal with this garbage every day.
The infected machine that is sending these out has the "webmaster" address in it's address book. The virus just picked it at random and inserts it in the "From address" field of the emails. If you have that address in your email address book it could be you. Here is how we can help stop it (Zane you said you deleted them, but they still might be in your "Deleted Items" folder). 1. Every ISP has an email address to report Spam. Check their Web site or call customer service to get it. 2. Every email you get has what's called a "Header" which has the IP address of the machine that actually sent the email. Highlight the email in your "In box" (don't open it) and right click. A box should POP up - choose "details" and there it is,the Internet header. (some programs may label it differently but the "right click" should get you there). Highlight and copy the entire header. (BTW don't post the header here -- some heavy legal issues involved.) 3. Now open the email (you won't get infected unless you open the attachment or link -- don't do that!). With the email open choose "forward". Now just paste the header into the email and send it to the address you got from your ISP. The Abuse Department at your ISP will then forward a complaint to the Abuse Department of the offending machines ISP. If they are any good they will contact the poor infected soul and get him cleaned up. If not they will just shut that modem down until he cleans the virus out. The SoberAG virus launched in the wee hours of the morning on 11/21/05 and it spread very fast. I personally have contacted well over 200 infected customers and shut off about 3 dozen. Although Paul is totally blameless, there are some problems that can affect him, like having the domain name tdpri.com email black listed. Paul - if I can be of any help - you have my email address - contact me. 5 years ago I used to get about 6 of these a month. Now I spend about 20 hours a week dealing with Viruses and Spammers. Come on - let's KILL this thing ! :evil:
__________________
When I was a young boy, I heard the sound of rolling thunder ..... ever since then I have been trying to play it. |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) | |
|
Tele-Meister
|
Re: hey chimp
Quote:
Many viruses drop in their own SMTP engine (outbound email program) on the infected machine to send their infected emails. They will, as part of their process, got into the email client of that machine to harvest addresses. It doesn't matter which email client (or operating system) you are using. The instructions I posted are for people that recieve one of the emails. Not to protect your PC but to help stop the machine that is sending out these emails with the TDPRI return address.
__________________
When I was a young boy, I heard the sound of rolling thunder ..... ever since then I have been trying to play it. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | ||
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Re: hey chimp
Quote:
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/jameswilsey |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 29
|
Here is a little song to sing, while they are doing all their virus hunting stuff.
http://www.ilovemymacthesong.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Windows, insecurity due to countless built in security flaws. Actually not really countless, they have counted (and exploited) hundreds of them. And it's happening again.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/jameswilsey |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 (permalink) | |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 79
|
Quote:
__________________
Whooho, black betty, bambalaam! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) | ||
|
Tele-Meister
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 207
|
warning: link contains one usage of profanity
Quote:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...58286032643965 warning: it uses the f word once, please dont click this link if that word offends you. such is not my intent.
__________________
- Logan I dont suffer from G.A.S., but my bank account does Bring my Green Sauce Back |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#19 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
My two portable machines are clear. Webserver is clear also. No worms, viruses, PUPs or hidden mail servers on my end.
Note to all you Apple users feeling good right now: I hope you never get one of those desktop widget viruses you can't uninstall. You'll stop mocking the PC then. Those hurt baaaaad... |
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.