Identify me a tele, giant noob ahead - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 2nd, 2013, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!

Identify me a tele, giant noob ahead

Hello all! Giant noob here looking for an electric and I've decided it should be a tele.
I play a lot of genres, blues, country, rock etc but have a main emphasis on rock, some heavier stuff although I've heard with the right setup you can play heavy rock or metal(any truth to this?)

I love the rock tone of this tele in particular:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhuh6...m0A7sQ&index=2
Any ID on this guitar? I know with the footage that it might be hard to tell, theres more videos with this guitar on the channel.

If not, any tele recommendations based on my preferences and the guitar in the video?
Budget is around £500

A-Crazy-Finish is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2013, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

It looks like a 'Crafted In Japan' 62 Custom Tele, or possibly an American Vintage 62 Custom Tele. They normally come with a white pickguard, so I would think the black one in the clip has been added later.

For a budget of around £500, you could either look for the Japanese model used, or maybe get yourself a Baja:

Or a Blacktop Tele HH might suit you if you want to use humbuckers for heavier sounds:

czgibson is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2013, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister