Newbie - picking a tele - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 18th, 2012, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Newbie - picking a tele

Hello everyone.

I've been lurking here for quite a while now, having fallen in love with the blonde teles some time ago. I apologize for asking a stupid question.

I'm new to guitars, I play keyboards. I would like to buy a nice tele to have fun and pretend I'm part Prince and part Graham Coxon I also like the sound of Romy Madley Croft from The XX (but she plays LP's).

Anyway, I've been going through reviews and videos of different teles, and still have no idea what to buy.

My top picks are Squier Classic Vibe and JA-90 tele. I know they supposedly have a very different sound, but I have no experience with guitars. Also, I've seen that many people think that an LP is much easier for note bending.

Any thoughts?

twe1313 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 18th, 2012, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Also, I have a Squier Vintage Modified jazz bass and I really like satin neck. Any affordable teles with satin neck?

Old December 18th, 2012, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister