Telecaster Guitar Forum
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone with respect, no matter how difficult that may be. No hate, politics, religion, sex or drug discussions.
No Commercial Posts: Do not use the TDPRI to buy or sell anything.
Telecaster Guitar Resources Guitar T-shirts
Guitar Tuner
6
E
5
A
4
D
3
G
2
B
1
E
Telecaster Music Shop

Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day






Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum
Home Forum Resources Shop Gallery Classifieds Reviews Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Forum Jump

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 12th, 2003, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Geo
Friend of Leo's
 
Geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Age: 59
Posts: 2,437
Another Likely Scam - e-bay I.D.

I received an email yesterday which opened up
to show the E-bay log in screen. The message asked
to log in user name and password so they could
verify and authenticate that it was correct.
The sender did not have an e-bay web address.
(I had no problem logging into my "real" e-bay account later.)

Just want to pass that on and alert you all
to be aware of this.
Geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2003, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Telecaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 182
Look for this also

I got a similar EMail wanting to "verify" my PayPal info. Bank info, password, and credit card info. YEAH RIGHT! I DON'T THINK SO
Telecaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2003, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
TeleGeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 1,998
Yep, it is a known scam.

eBay, PayPal etc. will never ever ask you to submit personal info in an email, or send you an email to ask you to do so. So those are always scams!

Any legitimate site will prompt you for such info after you have logged on the the real site in the normal way.

When you get an HTML email with a form like that, you can look at the source and it will point to a site with a similar, but not identical name. In PayPal's case it will be a http rather than https (secure) one too.

Just throw them away...

Geir :)
__________________
"This is a room in Paul's house."
TeleGeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2003, 09:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
markophonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 934
I've recieved two emails from "Paypal" this week asking to verify info....I thought they seemed a little fishy and have'nt replied to them.
__________________
http://www.brianvanderark.com/
markophonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2003, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
guitar_ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bankrupt State of California
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Howdy,

My wife works for eBay. Unfortunately, they have control over the a*&holes who send these messages. But eBay is very consistent: They will NOT send you an email asking for this information. Ever.

My suggestion is to call your local PD, using the NON-emergency number, and tell them. For that matter, bother your local member of Congress. Make them earn their pay. If enough people bother them, they will figure out a way to stop the problem, which is people who vote being pissed off at them.

So much for my rant.

Guitar Ed
__________________
Piss off a politician, register to vote.

When you complain about the government, remember that you ARE the government.

Voting is the ultimate act of civil dis-obediance.

AIM - guitar_edg
Skype - guitar_edg (had to change on 5/16/06)
guitar_ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2003, 05:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Bill Ashton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 462
I ahd a similar email

However this one was trying to info on my Earthlink account...something about files being purged and new info needed, that I would be shut off in 24 hrs. Smelled fishy but I went to the webpage, looked similar to Earthlink but thought, naaawww. Emailed Earthlink support and it was a scam.

The IP address of the site and the requester were in Holland...
Bill Ashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2003, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Geo
Friend of Leo's
 
Geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Age: 59
Posts: 2,437
These scam artists probably figure for every 100 or more
e-mails they may get a few replies that they can rip off and/or
wreak havoc on.
I wish I wrote down the origin now before I deleted the e-mail.
Geo is offline   Reply With Quote

Forum Jump

Reply


Thread Tools



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Forums Directory

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2006 All rights reserved.