|
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
Clushrider ?? 52 Hot rod new for $1200 ??
Anyone know anything about this company ? Says it comes with factory warranty 52 hot rod for $1200 plus free shipping ? Too good to be true ?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
MF does price matching why don't you give them a call and see if they will honor this price. I don't know about this Clushrider place it says all instruments come with manf warranty but if they were an authorized vendor they wouldn't be able to advertise price below MASP on the internet..
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) | |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 619
|
They're not listed on Fender's authorised dealer page, but the page may not be updated either.
I'd probably stick with MF if I was ordering on the net, does sound too good to be true somewhat. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NC
Posts: 547
|
Oh no.....
They have that doublecut Les Paul I've been eyeing....for about $500 less than anywhere else I've seen it. Oh no....
__________________
'11 Fender Baja Tele • '11 Fender American Standard Tele • '10 Jackson SL1 • '06 Ibanez AS83 • '01 Gibson SG • '00 Ampeg AMG-1 • '99 Fender American Lone Star Strat • '97 Gibson Les Paul Studio • '96 Larrivee D-03 Acoustic • '95 Fender Tex-Mex Strat |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
Quote:
http://www.clushrider.com/Contact-Us.html |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,297
|
I White Paged them and looked on BBB. The are invisible. I googled their address and it pulls up as a residental home.
My guess is, it's a homebased business. They probably buy insturments from MIRC in Nashville, i.e., B-stock - stamped used. Like a lot of the ebay sellers. I'd say, give them a call and talk with them. Find out why they sell at 20% off of GC's price. But then, you could go to GC and get 15% off anyday of the week just for asking. Then you're assured of being able to return it if it's not right. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Clushrider gives its address as
6101 Skylark St SW. Canton Ohio A quick check on Google maps shows that this is a real address but it is clearly a residential not a commercial address. It may be a legit business but if it is he is selling out of his home like an eBay seller or something like that. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 55
Posts: 2,140
|
I am not advocating to go with these folks, because personally I'm majorly skeptical of online if not a real business-place business. I haven't even gotten the gumption to buy from HelloMusic (though maybe I will if the right thing comes up, as they appear to be reliable and I haven't seen any threads on TDPRI with warnings).
I will now relate an unrelated story from a former hobby -- golf. Golf equipment vendors are not unlike music gear vendors and they have all these agreements about advertised pricing, etc. Well, if you know about golf gear, you know that they release new clubs (drivers especially) 2, even 3 times a year. So there's a constant turn and a lot of, I think, unsold gear that backs up. The manufacturers don't like to make the price on this gear too low -- because it encourages people to wait to buy until this point in the cycle to upgrade (bad for their margins), and discourages purchases of the new releases (ditto). Sound familiar? And if you know about golf gear, you know the marketing hype is over 'extra yards' and 'extra control' and 'ball-flight' and all the crap we translate to tone arguments. You also know that this is bogus because if it were true, after 10 upgrade cycles we'd all be hitting like Bubba Watson; and we don't. In my own case, now that I've switched habits ... er ... investment in hobbies, I'm playing a driver from 2007 and irons from 1997, and a putter from 2002. My game suffers not and in fact, last time out I was outdriving a guy bigger, stronger, and equipped with newer gear than me as often as not (though I suck worse at golf than guitar). Suddenly on eBay a couple of years ago, you started seeing these 'recently no longer the freshest release' clubs showing up from individuals or little operations, and priced to move. I mean, if the standard driver these days was going for $299.99, and the big distributor was selling the now-older version at a discount, it was usually $249.00, or maybe even $199.99, these little operations were selling it for $199 or $149 respectively. So you buy it and wait for your package to come from Florida where the Seller says he's located. Except, the club comes from Texas -- from the very store warehouse where the distributor was -- in their box with their name all over it. Brand new, plastic on the head, stickers on the shaft ... perfect. So my guess was, the Florida operation was some sort of set-up that was -- given the size of the retail/distributor -- a wink-and-a-nod with the manufacturer, because it was too obvious and too many opportunities for bad things to happen in a major relationship. Not saying that's the deal with Clushrider. Just telling a story. I'm told I tell a lot of stories ... some not so interesting as others.
__________________
. One God, that I can understand; but one Tele? That is not civilized. It is not generous! Caution: This post is caveated by the fact the Poster may be, in actuality, a M |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
I'm going by local music shop today to try and play the Hot Rod or the 60th anniv , I'm betting they won't have , then tomorrow going to guitar center to try same . I f I like one more , I'll Call MF and try to get them to price match . I've emailed Clushrider , no response , if they won't even talk to you , you definitely can't trust them .
Of course HELLO MUSIC selling that sweet Red Road Worn for $698 is trying to disrupt everything !! lol |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
I finally received an Email from Clushrider ...
Hi Brian, It's brand new with factory warranty. We are very new in the industry, we are trying to create awareness, we sell at no or low profit. Thank you. ClushRider Hmmm , still not very comforting , I've tried to call , just goes to voicemail |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
Someone from Clushrider has told me they will be listed soon as an authorized dealer . I just noticed that Hello Music is not on that list also ... hmmm
I've emailed Fender Support , if they tell me Clushrider is legit ... $1200 for a brand new Tele 52 Hot Rod sounds too good to pass on ! |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) | |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,297
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
|
My debit card was somehow hacked into just 2 months ago , I caught it quickly , but they wiped my checking acct out . Fortunately by catching it so quick those transactions hadn't cleared yet . Was a real pain in the butt having to get new card and letting everyone know though .
|
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
|
|
IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.