|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Resources | TeleShop | Gallery | Classifieds | Reviews | Register | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Age: 43
Posts: 656
|
Genuine or Fake?
I have some serious doubts about this...
It's supposedly, a 1958 that was finished "done right" in Burgundy Mist, which it isn't, because it's metallicy wine red. And also, it's "Been Esquired". What do you experts think? Ward |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Age: 52
Posts: 1,987
|
I'm no expert,but it looks okay to me.
Some of the better relic-masters could probably fool me though.
__________________
"For You,Lord,are good,and ready to forgive,and abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You." Ps. 86:5 http://www.soundclick.com/bands/0/refin_music.htm MASTER VOLUME? WHAT'S A MASTER VOLUME? |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Meister
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 333
|
man, i think you're being a little too picky there. that's burgundy mist enough for my tastes. i mean seriously, fender colors are like general guidelines. i've seen darker BM than this many times.
all that aside, it seems like a pretty cool guitar and probably worth that general ballpark figure. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
I'm no expert, but the decal looks a little weird to me. String tree isn't right, but that could have easily been changed. Looks cool, though.
__________________
When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace. - Jimi Hendrix
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Quote:
__________________
I have never owned an Ipod or Blackberry..and doubt that I ever will...... Last edited by mellecaster; June 2nd, 2008 at 12:30 AM. Reason: spelling |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Age: 43
Posts: 656
|
Stuff like what?
A genuine guitar can withstand scrutiny, as can any genuine seller. Defensiveness at being questioned would only prove that the specimen and seller are questionable! |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,889
|
Whats wrong with the string tree? Its aligned with the A tuner like it should be...Compared to the pic of a 58 Tele in the Duchossoir book the headstock and logo looks exactly right...Those are some close close-ups!
__________________
"You released the ******* fury!" |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
If it is original (which the electronics appear to be), those mods brought the price down. But, it might be a good piece to restore
back to its original glory. In addition to being a nice guitar, I think it would probably restore some value.
__________________
PJ "I don't know if it's art, but I like it." |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fatmanville, Cambs., UK
Posts: 2,912
|
Wardpike, you say that you have some "serious doubts" - but you didn't say WHAT your "doubts" are? Can you say why you do not believe this guitar to be genuine?
Can't see anything out of place from my quick cursory glance. The seller appears to have been open and honest about various items that have been worked on during the life of this guitar. If anything, I think that it has been valued a little high. But what do I know?....
__________________
. . ![]() . "Behind every argument is someone's ignorance." |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
If I remember right, BigJim is a member in our community and could jump in. He owns a good reputation as seller and will answer your question.
Nice Guitar, but if the headstock says "Telecaster", I would not re-esquire it.
__________________
Manfred |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Age: 43
Posts: 656
|
Well, Fatmanstratman,
The doubts I had about it being authentic centered around the 5 screw pickguard, when I think they're supposed to be 8 screws from this year onwards...nd the "Esquired" aspect (explain that one, if anyone can: original neck pup gone? Recreation of the 50s Esquire wiring scheme?)...and the finish, being a refin but not showing much signs of the original under years of wear and tear, I also thought the decal and string tree looked off... and a poster above mentioned the headstock shape looking odd - but that may be all from photographic angles. I was looking for good solid opinions and I think I got 'em. Thanks/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) | |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Quote:
__________________
I have never owned an Ipod or Blackberry..and doubt that I ever will...... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Doctor of Teleocity
|
Wardpike ........... Your thread title suggests that you suspected this was a fake. The seller provides excellent closeup photos and throughly describes what is not original about the guitar. So ............were you thinking this was a fake made up of parts purchased from Warmoth or All parts?
You say the 5-hole pickguard was one of your suspect items. The seller says it's a replacement pickguard. If you'd examine the pictures you'd see it was drilled for eight. It seems that all someone has to do is list an old guitar on eBay and someone immediately suspects it to be a fake.
__________________
Jack's Disclaimer: When I say something.... always ask yourself ..... "What the hell does he know?" _ ![]() Guys - learn to disable the flash on your digital cameras. |
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.