Telecaster Guitar Forum
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone with respect, no matter how difficult that may be. No hate, politics, religion, sex or drug discussions.
No Commercial Posts: Do not use the TDPRI to buy or sell anything.
Telecaster Guitar Resources Guitar T-shirts
Guitar Tuner
6
E
5
A
4
D
3
G
2
B
1
E
Telecaster Music Shop

Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Telecaster Discussion Forum

Telecaster Discussion Forum The world's largest Fender Telecaster Discussion Forum. Please keep discussion limited to Telecaster topics here.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 15th, 2003, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Ben Harmless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY US of A
Posts: 3,264
Warning: Do not communicate with Ben

A fellow TDPRI member recieved a message recently from benharmless@aol.com containing an executable file of unknown origin.

Funny thing is, I don't remember signing up for an AOL address. Ever. My e-mail address had been benharmless@yahoo.com for years, and before that it was benharmless@hotmail.com.

If any of you fine folks get a message from me that contains an attachment of any sort that wasn't discussed beforehand - delete away. In fact, if you recieve a message from me that is in any way comprehensible, then it's probably not from me, so you can go ahead and delete that too. :D

I just ad-aware'd my computer, and I haven't fed Zone Alarm in a couple of days, so it should be really vicious by now. Hopefully this won't happen to anyone else.

Thanks all.
__________________
"I think I'll go for the life of sin, followed by the last-minute, presto-change-o, deathbed repentance."
- B. Simpson
Ben Harmless is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old December 15th, 2003, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
John E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,396
Yeah I been getting a ton...

of obviously bogus emails, mostly from TDPRI members... ie. Barron(Fuzzy), GuitarJonz, Inertian, that are obviously not really from these guys... even got one from Paypal - just a blank email. Somebody on the board must have a worm... Luckily earthlink strips most of the attachments from my incoming email....
John E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2003, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
halouis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,404
yup me too. but it aint me. i swear. i am on a Mac and aint infected. but sometimes folks think its me.

dang worms and viruses.
halouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2003, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Dacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Godzone
Posts: 2,612
Nobody needs have a worm. There are 'bots which just specialise in stripping headers and replacing contents. Just need to be attached to the internet. Same thing applies - look for attachments in unsolicited mail.

You can cirumvent a lot of nasties by the use of webmail instead of Outlook/Mail etc.
__________________
My other Telecaster is a Thinline

The Tele Bible, Ch 1, v 10 Love thy Telecaster, covet not thy neighbour's Strat!
Dacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2003, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 5,577
I've been getting them too

It's obviously a TDPer with this virus. I found the true sender's IP address but whomever it is has not posted on the TDPRI. When people visit here the IP address is captured... but then deleted every few days. When they post the IP is captured and it stays in the record. So, if someone doesn't post I can't run down their IP address.

It is someone with a Comcast or attbi.com email address, I can tell you that.

Sometimes I get lucky and can run down the person from the IP address. However it's NEVER the person that's listed as the sender with the virus.

Paul Green
TDPRI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Baard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 668
I get all kinds of mail delivery system messages...

The all say

returning massage....
Either because of a virus or because of something else...recipient unknown...weird. Most of these people that i get it back from I have never communicated...but the attatchment sometimes have email.adresses that i know...webmaster@tdpri.com is one of them.

I got one with sent back with this:

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

getdirc887@rcp.net.pe
SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<getdirc887@rcp.net.pe>:
host amauta5.rcp.net.pe [161.132.8.38]: 550 unknow user

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
------ The body of the message is 133219 characters long; only the first
------ 106496 or so are included here.

Return-path: <bths@orangenet.dk>
Received: from rawdeal.mobilixnet.dk ([212.97.204.25])
by kuntur.rcp.net.pe with esmtp (Exim 4.24)
id 1AWKv1-00044s-Us
for getdirc887@rcp.net.pe; Tue, 16 Dec 2003 14:31:44 -0500
Received: from Jguo (ras-17-041.mobilixnet.dk [212.97.247.41])
by rawdeal.mobilixnet.dk (8.12.9/8.9.3) with SMTP id hBGJV3Pf088434
for <getdirc887@rcp.net.pe>; Tue, 16 Dec 2003 20:31:04 +0100 (CET)
Date: Tue, 16 Dec 2003 20:31:03 +0100 (CET)
Message-Id: <200312161931.hBGJV3Pf088434@rawdeal.mobilixnet.dk >
From: le <le@yahoo.co.kr>
To: getdirc887@rcp.net.pe
Subject: A special new game
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=WO24Y4Y3vu0N

--WO24Y4Y3vu0N
Content-Type: text/html;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

<HTML><HEAD></HEAD><BODY>

<FONT>This is a new game

This game is my first work.

You're the first player.

I wish you would like it.</FONT></BODY></HTML>

--WO24Y4Y3vu0N
Content-Type: application/octet-stream;
name=install.exe
Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
Content-ID: <G2s4zue483DW4Fv>

TVqQAAMAAAAEAAAA//8AALgAAAAAAAAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAA
AAAAAAAA2AAAAA4fug4AtAnNIbgBTM0hVGhpcyBwcm9ncmFtIG Nhbm5vdCBiZSBydW4gaW4g
RE9TIG1vZGUuDQ0KJAAAAAAAAAAYmX3gXPgTs1z4E7Nc+BOzJ+ Qfs1j4E7Pf5B2zT/gTs7Tn
GbNm+BOzPucAs1X4E7Nc+BKzJfgTs7TnGLNO+BOz5P4Vs134E7 NSaWNoXPgTswAAAAAAAAAA
UEUAAEwBBAC4jrc8AAAAAAAAAADgAA8BCwEGAADAAAAAkAgAAA AAAFiEAAAAEAAAANAAAAAA
QAAAEAAAABAAAAQAAAAAAAAABAAAAAAAAAAAYAkAABAAAAAAAA ACAAAAAAAQAAAQAAAAABAA
ABAAAAAAAAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAg1gAAZAAAAABQCQAQAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAA

etc...


Can anybody tell me how to get rid of this thing, as itīs causing trouble...


Sorry for bothering you on the page, but I dont know what to do I never had one of those before.



Baard



OK...I think itīs the

W32/Klez.h@MM virus.....
__________________
All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.
Baard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Baard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 668
Itīs gone....

it was the virus mentioned above, i downloaded a fix programme. Took care of it.(I hope) phew...what a stinker.


Baard
__________________
All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.
Baard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2008 All rights reserved.