The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old February 4th, 2008, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

1 Meg Pot??

Now, all you tele guru's don't laugh at this question because I'm just starting to learn about the inner workings of the geetar.
Does anyone ever use a 1 Meg pot?
Also, what would happen without the pots in at all? Would your guitar burst out in flames?? Just kidding! But seriously I'm just trying to understand the electrical aspect of the guitar.

hugo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 4th, 2008, 04:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity

1M pots wide open = 250K pots wide open + a fraction of a turn clockwise on your amp's HIGH tone pot.

This is how I like to imagine a guitar's electrics work.

Picture a pond or a small lake. It's oval in my head, might be round or rectangular in yours; make it square if you want - knock yourself out. You stand on one side. You are the amp.

On the other side of this pond is a kid throwing stones: big stones, medium stones and little stones. The kid is the strings. The water surface is the pickup. The ripples from these plops are either quite big, or quite small ... depending on the size of the stone and the force the little punk throws them at the water - and they travel all the way across the pond to reach the other side as big, medium and small waves that lap on the opposite shoreline.