Humbucker into a CV50 - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 2nd, 2012, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
daniel o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: manitoba
Posts: 290
Humbucker into a CV50

my son has purchased a used set of Gibson humbuckers (I know they're Gibson). He wants to put one in place of the neck pickup on his CV50 Tele.

problem is, the used humbuckers only have 1 wire coming out of the bottom and the Tele has 2 wires. how would we wire the humbucker into the Tele's switch?

__________________
Daniel
90's telecaster, 2011 vintage modified custom Tele, 1985 MIJ strat, 2011 American Special Tele
daniel o is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 3rd, 2012, 02:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
doof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 507
have you tried stripping it to see if there's more than one wire inside that "wire"?
doof is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 4th, 2012, 02:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
donh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oh Aich Ten
Posts: 1,449
However they are configured, there must be two conductors for the pickup to function. As doof suggested, go looking . . . . .
__________________
"Everything is a tone control"
-donh-
donh is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old December 4th, 2012, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
ESQUIRE JR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 251
The single conductor & the braid=2 ??
ESQUIRE JR is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 4th, 2012, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
daniel o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: manitoba
Posts: 290
as best as i can figure, the braid as ESQUIRE stated is the ground for this set up and the hot wire is inside. now i gotta figure out how to wire it up to work. ground to back of pot and hot to the 3 way switch?
__________________
Daniel
90's telecaster, 2011 vintage modified custom Tele, 1985 MIJ strat, 2011 American Special Tele
daniel o is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 5th, 2012, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Thinlineggman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel o View Post
as best as i can figure, the braid as ESQUIRE stated is the ground for this set up and the hot wire is inside. now i gotta figure out how to wire it up to work. ground to back of pot and hot to the 3 way switch?
Yes.
Thinlineggman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 8th, 2012, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
daniel o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: manitoba
Posts: 290
awesome, thanks
__________________
Daniel
90's telecaster, 2011 vintage modified custom Tele, 1985 MIJ strat, 2011 American Special Tele
daniel o is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Tele changes
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.